Posted by: familiabencomo | Sunday, April 20, 2008

Blog Awards & Tags, oh my!

So…. I just don’t know what to say. This has been a pretty amazing week. First, I won a stamp set plus more “crafty” things from my dear friend’s site Whoopsie Daisy. Then, I was tagged TWICE for 2 different blog awards. Then, I was tagged again for a 6 word biography. I’m feeling pretty lucky (& popular!) and will go buy a lotto ticket after I finish typing this. I’ll do my best to live up to these awards & make my biography interesting (maybe a bit of embellishment will help!).

**********

First, the Arte y Pico Award was given to me by a wonderful friend of mine, Jane of Whoopsie Daisy. Her blog is dedicated to paper craft with a dash of family & fun. Every Monday she has a “giveaway” which is how I won my goodies this week. She also lives in my neighborhood & our 5 year olds go to pre-school together. Jane is one of those friends that you call up on your way to her house to let her know you’re dropping by for a few hours – her door is always open. She is the same way with her blog – always open & ready to share.

Thank you, Jane, for this award!

The rules for the Arte y Pico Award are:

1. You pick five blogs that you consider deserve this award for their creativity, design, interesting material, and also contribute to the blogging community, no matter what language.

2. Each award has to have the name of the author and also a link to his or her blog to be visited by everyone.

3. Each award winner has to show the award and put the name and the link to the blog that has given her or him the award itself.

4. Award-winner and the one who has given the prize have to show the link of Arte y Pico blog, so everyone will know the origin of this award.

Below are the 5 blogs that inspire me each week to create beautiful meals for my family. Cooking, I have recently discovered, really is an art form. I’m still learning to hold the brush, but these lovely ladies embrace their canvas with broad, elegant strokes.

Deeba, Passionate About Baking…, is an Indian Princess disguising as a housewife. She adds a touch of royalty to everything she creates. Her posts are witty, well-written & gorgeously photographed.

Farida, Farida’s, Azerbaijani Cookbook, is a charming young mother compiling exotic recipes from her homeland of Azerbaijan. The recipes are easy to follow & leave you with the sense of having traveled to undiscovered lands.

Marie, Proud Italian Cook, is my adopted aunt (I hope that’s OK with you, Marie)! Familia Bencomo has lavishly dined on Marie’s recipes more than a dozen times. Alfredo & I drool together over each of her posts. She is consistently great at inspiring me to get into the kitchen & I have learned a lot from her.

Susan, Food Blogga, is a remarkably talented culinary muse of mine. Her simplicity with the use of ingredients is alarming because of the great yield of flavor. I always feel healthier after reading her blog & even better after trying one of her dishes. Also, she is hosting Beautiful Bones: An Osteoporosis Food Event for the month of May. This is a great opportunity to bring awareness to this disease and to learn ways to increase our personal health.

Maryann, Finding La Dolce Vita, is a wonderfully delightful spinner of tales. Her recipes all have some kind of story or history to them. My favorite posts of hers are the one that describe her Italian immigrant grandparents and their traditional recipes.

**********

Second, the Blog of Distinction Award comes from my friend Deeba, Passionate About Baking…. I love it that she awarded this to me because I certainly would have awarded it to her! She is quite poetic when she tells a tale – I loved it when she described moments of running down the tarmac in heels & a sari to warn pilots about bomb scares while working during her pre-children days at the airport (Bollywood material, no?).

This award was created by Working Mum On The Verge. Here are the rules:

Pass the award on to five blogs that make you Laugh, Cry, Think or Sigh… Below are some great blogs that do just that (except for the crying part!):

Lorraine, Italian Foodie, is an enchanting blogger from Ireland with yummy Italian recipes. She & her husband own a restaurant in Limerick and she often travels to Italy to visit her in-laws. So, she posts mostly on Italian cuisine with a spattering of travel logs

Jessie, Cakespy, I think we all know & adore her. She has a quick wit, quirky imagination and a real passion for all things sweet. Her blog is full her whimsical art, poignant interviews with real & imaginary people, and with recipes that enthuse her zeal for sweets.

Carolina, Carolina’s Creative Pad, is dedicated to paper crafts. She is remarkably talented! She has a way of altering normally banal items into the most exquisite objects that you would expect to find in over-priced boutiques.

Jane, Whoopsie Daisy, is a dear friend whose site is dedicated to paper crafts as well. She brilliantly gives tutorials so that ordinary people like me can make mind-blowing cards or scrapbook pages like the pros. She also has a weekly prize which makes it fun to visit & try to win something!

Ash & Tiff, Serendipity Soap Dish, 2 wild friends, 1 soapy dream. Taking over the world, one bar of soap at a time…. Well, that’s how they describe it & I couldn’t do it better myself! I am addicted to their totally organic products and love it that their blog is so informative about the phthalates that are out there. Honestly, I think they trying to save the world, not take it over. (http://soapchix.wordpress.com/)

**********

OK….. Lastly, My 6 Word Memoir.

1. N – Nomadic

2. I – Inquisitive

3. C – Compassionate

4. O – Open

5. L – Lively

6. E – Eager

I was tagged by Farida to describe myself in 6 words. I used my middle name to do this because Carolina had tagged me to do this ages ago (sorry!). “This 6 Word Memoir is to show support to our foodie colleagues, to introduce them to others, to encourage each other and just to make friends. So, please take a moment and visit each of these blogs I am tagging.” Farida was tagged by Elle at Elle’s New England Kitchen who was originally tagged by Pixie at You Say Tomato, I Say Tomato.

Since I’ve already tagged 10 people in this post & all but 3 are foodies, let’s just consider them all tagged. It is actually quite hard to describe yourself in six words & if your up for the challenge, then I look forward to learning about you!

Responses

  1. You are hilarious bella…an Indian Princess!!! Ha ha!! Congrats on your creative award from Whoopsie daisy; what a lovely blog name. I have to check it out coz I love craft. What a great post…may I share the lotto? Can hardly wait for the biography to materialise! Thank you for choosing me for the award…gave one & got one. Am I supposed to wait for you to let me know or shall I just grab it? Greedy ole me!! Tanti baci dear!!

  2. Very very sweet of you to mention my blog. Much appreciated :)

  3. Amy, this is so sweet!!! Thank you for calling me and my sweet tooth out! And how fantastic to find all of these other awesome links! You nomadic, compassionate buddy you! :-)

  4. Hi Amy,

    You just made my Monday (and my whole week). It is so gratifying to know that you find my blog inspiring and entertaining. I really enjoy writing it and truly appreciate every comment my readers leave, especially dear ones like yours. May I say that I too adore Deeba. And Marie and Maryann are fabulous!

    Cheers,
    Susan

  5. I almost forgot! Many thanks for mentioning my Beautiful Bones event. I hope it will help a lot of people and look forward to rice pudding. Mmmm… it’s one of my all-time favorite desserts.

  6. Ahh thanks Amy for your lovely words!!! Isn’t the blog world a wonderful place, I can’t remember life before it!! It’s amazing how it becomes part of your everyday life!!! Thanks a mil again.You deserve all the awards btw:)

  7. Congratulations on your awards! It does help to feel popular to have people tagging you. But it also takes some time. Isn’t it always the way… everything happens at the same time.

    PS. I used your marinade (with a few changes… just because I can never leave well enough alone) yesterday as part of my dinner. I will be posting about it and linking back to you in the next day or two.

    Thanks!

  8. Hello my adopted neice Amy! You are the sweetest! I’m honored to get an award by you! You made my day! Congrats on your award, much deserved on your part. I’m getting ready to post about your marinade too, I used it yesterday,I had to change it up slightly cause I didn’t have one ingredient. Amy, I’m so glad we got to “meet” through this wonderful world of blogging!

  9. Yoohoo Amy…back again like a ‘not so bad’ penny! Got an excellent award lined up for you too bella!!! Cheers

  10. Deeba – Absolutely! This is yours to grab! I wish I had more than just a jpeg to give you.

    Maryann – My pleasure! I love reading your blog while I drink my coffee in the morning – it’s the best way to start the day.

    Jessie – You deserve it… despite the fact that you have managed to thwart my diet numerous times.

    Susan – You have an outstanding blog! Never in my life had a prepared beets – now, I buy them every week, greens & all. Thank you! Yes, your Beautiful Bones Food Event will be great. I’ve already made the rice pudding (& eaten it too!), just waiting for May to post it.

    Lorraine – Thank you, sweetie. I was recently recalling to my son how I *typed* all my papers in college…. Wow! That was a nightmare before spell check. When I said typewriter he face was blank until I googled it.

    Nicole – Thank you, hun. I can’t wait to see th success of your marinade. I’m glad you switched it up a bit – we all have to adjust a bit for our “family flavors” as Alfredo puts it.

    Marie – or should I say Auntie?!?! You are in GREAT company BTW. I have 8 of the best aunts out there – ranging in age from 45 to 63. They’re all a joy, love to laugh & insist on hugs every few minutes. I can’t wait to see your marinade. I’m sure its a 100 times better!

    Deeba – you naughty girl! Now I really want your address so that I can send some of this rosemary.

    xoxox Amy

  11. I love this!!! Your description reveals so much about your personality…I adore the woman my little girl has become..


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

