Posted by: familiabencomo | Thursday, May 1, 2008

Beautiful Bones Food Event – Risotto Rice Pudding

One of my absolute favorite food bloggers, Susan of Food Blogga, is hosting Beautiful Bones: An Osteoporosis Food Event for the month of May. This is to bring awareness to the risks of Osteoporosis and to encourage us to to protect our beautiful bones. One of the best ways to keep our bones healthy is by having a calcium-rich diet. There are plenty more calcium-rich foods other than MILK, but I decided to go with the obvious for Susan’s Food Event…. It’s pudding after all! Please go to her Beautiful Bones post for a full list of calcium-rich foods, meal ideas & more information on Osteoporosis.

Rich Risotto Rice Pudding

From the book Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey by Jill O’Connor
Serves 4 to 6

Introduction

This rice pudding is voluptuously creamy, with firm but tender grains of Arborio rice suspended in a creamy yolk-tinged, vanilla-scented, milky pudding. It’s always amazing to me how little rice you really need to make a good rice pudding; remember, it’s the milk that makes the dish, reducing as the rice cooks.

Ingredients

½ cup Arborio (risotto) rice
8 cups whole milk
½ cup sugar
1 vanilla bean, split in half lengthwise
¼ tsp. ground cinnamon
¼ tsp. salt
2 large egg yolks
1 cup heavy cream
2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
~ Freshly grated nutmeg (optional)

Steps

  1. Combine the rice, milk, sugar, vanilla bean, cinnamon, and salt in a large heavy-bottomed saucepan over medium-high heat and stir to combine. Bring the mixture to a boil, stirring constantly. Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer, stirring every 5 minutes as the mixture starts to thicken, for about 30 minutes.
  2. Continue cooking until the rice is tender but not too mushy, about 15 minutes longer. The milk will be thick and the rice tender, but the mixture will still be very soupy, which is what you want. (As the pudding cools, it thickens, and if it is too thick while still hot, it will firm up into a thick, stodgy lump without the unctuous creaminess of a great rice pudding.)
  3. In a bowl, whisk the egg yolks and cream together and stir into the rice pudding. Continue cooking the pudding over medium-low heat for about 2 to 3 minutes, until the eggs are cooked through and pudding is creamy and glossy, but still fairly soupy. Remove from the heat and stir in the vanilla. Grate a little nutmeg, if you like, into the pudding. Remove the vanilla pod.
  4. Pour the pudding into a serving bowl or individual serving dishes and press plastic wrap over the surface to prevent a skin from forming. Refrigerate until cold, about 2 to 3 hours. Serve cold.

Notes

This pudding is delicious as is, but you can also fold a dollop of whipped cream into each serving, or layer the pudding in a parfait glass with dulce de leche or caramel sauce, or just drizzle some sauce on top before serving.

This content is from the book Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey by Jill O’Connor.

This is the perfect treat to prepare in the morning & have it waiting for you when you come home, especially if you’ve spent the day outside in the heat. Also, we have a great excuse for seconds – “my bones need their calcium!”

Responses

  1. My little brain is telling me I need to make a rice pudding- it’s the second one I’ve read about this week!

  2. Love rice pudding! Great entry for the event.
    We (in former Yugoslavia) call it “sutlijas”, pronounced kind of like this – soot-lee-yush! :)
    Off to check out Susan’s blog…

  3. Hi Amy,
    You made one of my all-time favorite desserts! Oh, how I adore, creamy, vanilla-laced rice pudding. It’s such a calcium-rich dish that everybody loves, so it makes the perfect submission! Thanks for being so generous with your words and for helping me kick off Beautiful Bones so deliciously!

  4. Amy, your Grandma (my wonderful mom) always made rice pudding when I went home for a visit..no one made it better. Mom would throughly approve…btw I notice the fabric (from Grandma) as the background on the photo. Love you.

  5. Oh Amy! You had me at “voluptuously creamy!” not to mention yolk-tinged vanilla scented pudding!! I’m sold! And it’s even good for our bones!! ( I’m assuming our hips too!) :)

  6. Hi there! thank you so much for stopping by my blog! It was a pleasure to have you visit and I do hope that you will come again when you have the time.

    Please let me know if you need any recipes from the Tea Party post and I will be happy to send it to you.

  7. Pixie – Yes, follow the “signs” to make pudding. Is there a better excuse?

    Medena – I would love to see your recipe – all of your Croatian delights are breathtaking.

    Susan – This is my pleasure, trust me. What a thrill to kick off your event AND have pudding! Life is very good.

    Mom – That’s why I love it so! Yes, Grandma would appreciate the use of a sophisticated rice like arborio. Love you.

    Marie – Sadly…. In this case, what’s good for our bones isn’t necessarily good for our hips. Alfredo noticed that the pudding was “disappearing” – I had to blame it on my daughter. Whoopsie.

    Cynthia – Thank you for visiting. I’d love those recipes from your Tea Party post – they all looked divine!

  8. Hi Amy – that sounds delicious. I’m looking forward to the “bones” event.

    I love your tablecloth!

  9. Amy, really love this!!!!! I want to try yah!! Good for the bones but so good for eat!!!! xxx Gloria

  10. Amy, this is a great recipe! I tried rice pudding from Simply recipes and was great. Next time I am trying yours!

    Also, check our my blog – there is a new game waiting for you:)

  11. Hi Amy, I’m dropping by to award you with the “Make my day” award. You have made my day in more than one way! First of all, by telling me you actually thought of me prior to my winning your ice cream! Second of all, because when I read your about us, it made me feel so good to know there are people out there who love each other in many ways – and that your love story is a happy success with the stories of “after”. I just love it!

  12. Hey there bella, my bones are screaming for this divine calcium pudding!! WOW…creamy & indulgent, this rice pudding sounds outta this world Amy! I LOVE IT!! Great great entry for Susan’s…she is one of my fave bloggers. Tanti baci!!

  13. what an interesting event! meaningful too and a great spin on your pudding. love it. x

  14. Wonderful. It looks great. And I really like the layering idea. Whipped cream just adds more calcium right? Whipped cream can be served on just about everything. But the caramel also sounds great. YUM! I better go eat. I am getting too hungry for sweets now.

  15. Oh Rice Pudding…how do I love thee. Amy, this looks seriously and absolutely dangerously delicious! And I do need calcium…lots of it by the look of this! :-)

  16. Dear Amy, Hi dear, I have an Award to you, may you passing by to my blog??? ThanksxxGloria

  17. Hey Amy,

    Thanks for checking out my blog. I may have to copy some of the things you do on your blog. I like the idea of putting recipes on there.

    Glad to know things are well with you guys.

    Love, Ashley

  18. Oh YUM, forget the hips, the diet can start Monday;) I love rice pudding but unfortunately Bru doesn’t so I’ll just have to make it for one – what a shame:)

  19. Lori Lynn – I loved your flan that you posted! The table cloth was once Grandma’s…. thank you!

    Gloria – I bet your family would love it!

    Farida – thank you, dear!

    HoneyB – You really are too sweet. I’ll tell you a secret – Alfredo’s nickname for me while we were dating was Honey Bee. So, naturally I just adore you!

    Deeba – I knew you would like it. Not quite a panna cotta that you are now famous for, but it’s a start.

    Diva – Yes, I try to incorporate pudding into my diet as often as possible for my “bones.”

    Nicole – I’m so glad you noticed that! And, there is calcium in the caramel too! My goodness – it’s the perfect compliment to our aging bones.

    Jessie – Yes you do! I will call you over the next time I make this.

    Gloria – Thank you, sweetheart! You are too kind.

    Ashley – I love you too, cuz! Kisses to sweet Ella.

    Lorraine – I just read that weight gain on the hips helps prevent type 2 diabetes…. Isn’t that great!?!?


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

