Posted by: familiabencomo | Tuesday, January 8, 2008

Tres Chic Cupcakes

I have always had an adoration for the simple perfection of a cupcake (mature, I know!). It’s the ideal size for a guilt-free snack or dessert. You never have to share them. They are versatile enough to be appropriate for any occasion (breakfast, lunch, dinner). And, they are so darn easy to make!!!

In recent weeks, I have noticed that I’m not alone in this adulation of the cupcake. There is a huge following of these bite-sized cakes.

Betz White, for instance, makes these whimsical cupcake pincushions entirely from recycled sweaters. Good enough to eat!

My friend & expert papercrafter, Jane , made this beautiful card for my daughter’s birthday. Yumm!

Kimberly C – The Baking Diva posted this amazing Mojito Cupcake on her site which is dedicated all sorts of cupcakes!!! She even provides the recipes!!! Bless you, Kimberly.

So, with all of these inspirations around me, I felt compelled to bake. Well, that AND it’s my turn to provide the snacks at my daughter’s preschool. Below is the recipe that I used. You can easily double it or triple it if need be. This recipe came from a much loved & often used 40 year old Betty Crocker cookbook. I love it because it literally tells you how to boil water & make toast – it answers all of those baking/cooking questions that we all “should” know but are entirely too embarrassed to ask. My favorite thing to do with cupcakes is to skip the icing & add chocolate chips to the batter. DEE-LISH!

Dozen Cupcake Recipe

1 1/2 cup flour
1 cup sugar (you can use less easily)
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 milk
1/3 cup shortening
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla

Mix all & bake 25ish minutes at 350.

I hope you have the chance to enjoy some cupcakes soon. This recipe is great for sating that need for sweets without making too much of a fuss.

This is my version of the cupcake…. I’m still a beginner, but I’m working on that!

Responses

  1. OMG! Aren’t those the most yummiest and wooliest cupcakes evah? I ran over to Etsy to find out more and they cost $36 for ONE yummy cupcake and $6 to ship. Are you thinking what I’m thinking? $22.99 for the book and you too can make those sweets! Yet another project for this Gemini to take on! lol!

    Thank you for sharing the card I made for Gabriella. It was such fun dressing that cupcake up for the card. Ken helped add the beads. Keiji poured the glue. It was definitely made with lots of love!

    I’ll be trying your cupcake recipe out soon! It sounds SO delicious!

    xoxo
    Jane

  2. WOW… i love cupcakes. this year i made cupcakes for spencer’s birthday as well!! mine are definitely not fancy but will be able to be viewed later on today’s post!! ;p i’ll link it here after i post the pic!! 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

