Posted by: familiabencomo | Thursday, January 10, 2008

Olive You!

I may not be an expert of the olive, but I do know what I like – olives drowning in extra virgin olive oil with huge chunks of garlic & a delicate blend of herbs. I have, like everyone else, tried a myriad of olives – canned, bottled, from the olive bar at Whole Foods…. it’s endless. However, I never really felt passionate about olives until my friend Evelyn gave me a bottle of her own gourmet olives that she & some friends can every fall. Alfredo & I had plans to join this canning party last October which involves a mallet, rubber gloves & wine…. Alas, my beloved appendix had to be removed the day before & we missed the fun. Almost 3 months have passed with the olives cocooned in their oil & yesterday Evelyn gave me a huge bottle of my very own!!! They are soooo yummy. I immediately started flipping through my cookbooks for the perfect recipe (perfect meaning ingredients that I already have). Below is what I found.

I would have taken a picture of my meal, but food goes fast in this house!

 

Chicken Casserole with Olives & Tomatoes

From Food Cook Eat by Lulu Grimes

  • 1 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 sm onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 4 pieces of Chicken
  • 2 tsp tomato paste
  • 1 glass of white wine
  • A pinch of sugar
  • 4 lg ripe tomatoes, chopped
  • 2 tbsp parsley, chopped
  • 12 green beans, topped, tailed & halved
  • 12 olives

 

Heat oil in a flameproof casserole and fry the onions for a minute or two. Add the garlic and the chicken and fry for as long as it takes to brown the chicken all over.

Add the tomato paste and white wine, along with the sugar, and stir everything together. Add the tomato and any juices, the parsley and the beans and bring everything to a boil. Turn down the heat, season well and simmer for 30 minutes

Add the olives and simmer for another 5 minutes. The sauce should be thick by now and the chicken fully cooked. Add more salt and pepper, if necessary. Serve with potatoes, pasta or rice.

Serves 2; takes 50 minutes

*** Note: I doubled everything except for the tomatoes (ran out) to accommodate my family, I used 4 skinless chicken breast instead of chicken pieces and I skipped the salt & pepper because the olives are already rich with flavor. I served this with rice, but in the future I will prepare polenta, a lite risotto or pasta to go with this dish.

Thank you, Evelyn, for the olives….. Olive You!!!

 

 

Responses

  1. mmmmmm… yummie!! 🙂 thanks for sharing!! i wish the family would eat something like this!! 😉

  2. Oh! This is a must try for me! But it will have to be for a girls night out because it would be wasted on my three guys. Ooooh! Let’s have a girls night in sometime when my DH has his next business trip to Asia! Dinner and a movie?

  3. Hurray for blogs! Now we can keep up with all of your goings on in sunny CA. I’ll add your blog address to my Google Reader (like I do for Claire’s family’s blogs) so I can be notified each time you update it.

    Re: Trip to SF: We’re not sure if it’ll be with the kids or not, but we’re hoping it’ll be with them. We’re thinking the whole “family vacation” thing, which would include Yosemite, redwoods, wine country and visits with you guys! Claire is also dying to try the French Laundry so if anyone knows how we can get in, let us know and we’ll owe you for the rest of our lives! More to come!

    Cheers & Love,
    Victor (& Family)

  4. […] their family roots are Down Under, their heritage and kitchen are definitely Italian. Evelyn is my olive expert that I wrote about […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

