Posted by: familiabencomo | Friday, January 25, 2008

Oatmeal Nut Bars

img_4075.jpg

Is there EVER a more apt reason to bake than it’s raining outside & the kids don’t have school?!?! I assure you this is a lethal combination unless you add the promise of sugar to this caged-in day.

I wanted to bake something with oatmeal because we buy it in bulk with the intent of a warm breakfast every morning….. L’eggos count too, right? So, to ease my guilt every time I open the pantry & to ease the remainder of the day (only 6 more hours until my beloved is home!), we Googled “oatmeal recipe.” Clever, I know. Below is what we found:

Easy oatmeal bars with optional icing.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sifted all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup quick cooking oats
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans or walnuts

PREPARATION:

Cream butter and sugars; blend in egg and vanilla. Stir in remaining ingredients. Spread batter in a greased and floured 8-inch square pan. Bake at 350° for 20 to 25 minutes. Sift powdered sugar over bars or top with a confectioners’ sugar icing.

This was SUPER-EASY ! I had everything mixed by the time the oven was heated & my kitchen was clean moments later. The only variant to the recipe was that I used both walnuts & pecans, added chocolate chips (of course!), and skipped the powered sugar.

Responses

  1. So next time, you can add a good friend with a couple of Starbucks and 2 extra boys to the mix. LOL! Those bars look scrumptious! I like SUPER-EASY!

  2. He he he… I’m with Jane… Add a couple of more and have a partay!! 😉

  3. LOOKS HEALTHY TOO

  4. Alright, I’m sold. I’m not a baker (that is Wes’ creative hobby) but I’ll try them. Or I’ll make Wes try them!

  5. Yum!!! I have got to try these – thanks for sharing the recipe and for making hungry – LOL!

  6. I was not kidding when I said these were easy! I almost made some more today, but then I got on the scale & had an apple instead…. Dried cranberries would be a great addition to this!

  7. I love the recipe, but absolutely not on my diet!!! I’d have to settle for the apple as well!


Leave a Reply

Categories

