Posted by: familiabencomo | Sunday, February 3, 2008

1st Entrant

OK, everyone…. we have a front runner! My cousin Stacey was the first (& only so far) to submit something to our Serendipity Bake Off. I know from private conversations & emails that she was worried about her diet (we both share the sweet-tooth gene that has a habit of undermining any weight goals) and she wanted to go Vegan (I’d like to see her explain this to one of her 7 meat-lov’n uncles!). These Reese’s inspired cupcakes look yummy & sexy – Thanks Stace!
STACEY WROTE: This was fun. Would be more fun to eat everyone’s goodies!!! 🙂 I got the recipe from a new cookbook: How It All Vegan. I’m eating vegetarian for 2008. The cookbook has interesting recipes — I’ve made a couple of the soups which were very good.
Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes
1 cup molassses
1 cup soy milk
2 cups chocolate or carob chips
6 tbsp oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
4 tbsp cornstarch
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
cupcake paper liners
Preheat oven to 375. In a medium saucepan, whisk together the molasses, ½ cup of the milk, and the chips. Cook on medium heat until chips have melted, stirring constantly with a spoon. Add the oil, vanilla, cornstarch and stir until well mixed. Remove from heat and set aside. In a medium bowl, sift the flour and baking soda together. Add the remaining milk and the chocolate mixture and stir. Spoon into cupcake paper liners and bake for 15-20 minutes. Test with a knife to see if done. Once cooled, you can frost with icing.
Peanut Butter Icing
3 tbsp margarine
½ cup powered sugar
1/3 cup peanut butter
2 tbsp soy milk
½ cut chopped nuts (optional)
In a medium bowl or food processor, mix together the margarine, sugar, and peanut butter. Add the milk and mix well.. Stir in nuts before using or sprinkle on top of frosted cupcakes.
(I might not have the tastiest recipe, but it’s a healthier dessert choice!)
Love you!
Responses

  1. Way to go, Stacey! It looks so yummy! It sounds really simple too. TFS!

  2. I’m so glad that the first submission is for cupcakes! I almost love cupcakes more than my hubby! OK the vegan thing is throwing me a little but I’ll try it. Keep those fabulous entries coming, folks! The Soap Chix promise that you’ll love the prize!

  3. I’ve never been a fan of icing. But pb icing? I’d end up eating the whole bowl and not leaving any for the cupcakes.

  4. Well, I haven’t blogged it yet, because I haven’t uploaded my own pictures…but you can see my dessert here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/jpryan/2254239556/

    It was delish!! 😀

  5. YUM YUM!! I’ll have to try these!! Reminds me of one of my old co-workers… I wonder what she’s up to these days?? 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

