Posted by: familiabencomo | Tuesday, February 5, 2008

Pink Lemonade Cupcakes

The other day I came across this to-die-for Coconut Lemonquat Tea Cake on the Food Blogga’s site….. Since then I have been craving all things lemony. It’s been cold, dark & damp for much too long & it’s seems like the lemon has been calling out to me (although today is very sunny, go figure!). I went to bed last night dreaming of lemon cupcakes. Then, this morning I had a vision – Pink Lemonade Cupcakes! I honestly thought to myself “I bet it’s never been done – I’m am too clever.” Turns out that it has been done…. quite a few times.

img_4121.jpg

The recipe I used was found on Cast Sugar’s blog who found it on Daisycake’s blog which is no longer showing the recipe (or at least I couldn’t find it). Below is the recipe copied EXACTLY (thank you, Cast Sugar!). I followed the recipe to-a-T. Next time, I will probably double the recipe to make 18 generous cupcakes instead of 12 little ones. These were super-yummy so there’s no chang’n the recipe. My husband had 3 in one sitting….. I had baked these for a playdate my daughter had with another little girl – very pink, very girlie. Then, my daughter passed on the treat & the other girl didn’t really like it. The other mom & I enjoyed them – thought they were wonderful & said these would be perfect for a girl baby shower. Just a thought. Oh, a note on the icing, I was running late & didn’t wait for my butter to warm to room temperature that’s why it looks clumpy. Another lesson learned.

PINK LEMONADE CUPCAKES

Ingredients:
1 c. all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
Pinch salt
1/2 c. granulated sugar
1/4 c. vegetable oil
2 egg whites
1/3 c. thawed frozen Pink Lemonade Concentrate
1/4 c. buttermilk
2 or more drops red food coloring
Preheat oven to 350 F. Line muffin pan with liners.
In a small bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.
In a large bowl, whisk together sugar, oil, egg whites and lemonade concentrate. Alternately whisk in flour mixture and buttermilk, making three additions of flour mixture and two of buttermilk, beating until just smooth. Add just enough food coloring to turn the batter a light shade of pink.
Scoop batter into liners (fill about three-fourths full). Bake in preheated oven for 20-25 minutes or until tops of cupcakes spring back when lightly touched. Let cool in pan on rack for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and let cool completely on rack. Top cooled cupcakes with frosting (see below).
Lemonade Buttercream:
3 c. + 3 Tbsp. confectioner’s sugar
1 stick unsalted butter at room temperature
1/8 tsp. salt
2 Tbsp. pink lemonade concentrate
Red food coloring
Add the butter, confectioner’s sugar, salt, lemon juice, and a few drops of food coloring to the stand mixer and mix on low using the paddle attachment until combined. Turn the speed to med-high until the buttercream is fluffy and uniformly pink. Pipe or spread onto cooled cupcakes.
Responses

  1. Sooooo cute! As a mom of two very girly girls I can really appreciate the pink-ness of them! And right now I can really use a dose of Summer (I’m sick of the snow here in CO) so I think anything with lemonade in it just might hit the spot! 🙂

  2. Sounds yummy…

  3. Amy, These cupcakes are adorable!! frosting and all! Perfect for a girlie party!
    P.S. I will be getting an entry in before the 29th!

  4. WOW! I would love to help taste these! 🙂

  5. I highly recommend to give these cupcakes a try. In fact, I will be baking them again soon b/c I have left over pink lemonade concentrate. My son made a request for blue cupcakes…. it just doesn’t seen right. I looked for other frozen concentrates in blue, but there was only grape…. again, not right. When I remake these I will let the butter soften so that my icing looks beautiful (fingers crossed!).

    Ash – your girls deserve a girlie tea party. Make the cupcakes while they’re at school – I know how you feel about “help” in the kitchen.

    Jane – I’ll drop some off the next time I make these.

    Marie – Thank you, hun! I look forward to your entry. I know it will be something that we copy here.

    Cakespy – You are very welcome to come over for a taste….. Although, I don’t know how you keep up with all of the yummy things you enlighten us with on your blog.

    xoxo to all, Amy

  6. Okay, can you help me say YUM!!! My downfall and of course obsession, cupcakes…I sooo have to try this recipe.

    Hugs!

  7. These are waaaaaaay cute!! ADORABLE!! I will definitely keep these in mind when hosting a baby shower… which I just might be in April!! 🙂 If I forget… remind me of these okay?? XOXO!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

