Posted by: familiabencomo | Thursday, February 7, 2008

What’s for Dinner?

Darn, if I don’t ask myself every day what I’m going to whip up for dinner! There are things that I buy at the grocery store every week without thinking – chicken, green veggies, rice, pasta. Then, I’m faced with the challenge of making this interesting 6 times a week. Thank goodness it’s now Lent. I know that Fridays will be fish.

This week (well, the last 2 days) has been a HUGE success for me in the kitchen. Tuesday night, in celebration of Fat Tuesday, I prepared Jambalaya with cornbread. Then, last night I worked some magic in the kitchen with a recipe I found on Proud Italian Cook’s site, Chicken with Gorgonzola and Toasted Walnuts. Just below is my photo, but take a look at hers to see what it’s really suppose to look like. This meal took about 30 minutes to prepare, no lie! You have to love that & it tastes like you spent hours slaving over the stove. I served it with a mushroom & herb risotto (a box from Trader Joe’s, I cheated) and freshly sauteed spinach.

img_4135.jpg

The Jambalaya takes a bit longer to prepare, but I love the flavors of all slow-cooked meals. Also, you can do other things while your food simmers to taste (like help your son with his homework or finish the laundry – glamorous liv’n here!) . I found this recipe last year in Martha Stewart Living.

img_4134.jpg

QUICK JAMBALAYA

  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • Coarse salt & freshly ground pepper
  • 3 celery stalk, finely chopped
  • 1 med onion, finely chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, stemmed, seeded, finely chopped
  • 1 lb andouille sausage, cut into ½ – inch pieces
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 cup chicken broth
  • ¾ tsp Old Bay seasoning
  • 1 can (14 oz) crushed tomatoes with juice
  • 1 cup long-grain rice

 

  1. Heat oil in Dutch over med-high heat. Season chicken with salt & pepper. Cook until golden brown, about 5 minutes per side. Cut into ¾ inch pieces; set aside.
  2. Add vegetables to pot. Cook, stirring, 5 minutes. Add sausage; cook 3 minutes. Add garlic; cook 1 minute. Stir in stock, Old Bay, tomatoes, and ½ cup water; bring to boil. Add rice and chicken. Reduce heat; simmer 5 minutes. Cover; remove from heat. Let stand until rice is tender and liquid is mostly absorbed, 30-35 minutes. Season with salt & pepper.

Please Note: When buying the sausage, opt for organic. I’ve made this without organic before & the taste difference is quite noticeable. If you allow your sausage to warm to room temperature, then you can remove the casing from the sausage. Also, semi-pre-cook the rice, otherwise your jambalaya will be crunchy based on Martha’s recommended cooking. Old Bay seasoning? Never heard of it & replaced it with Cajun seasoning – seems to work. Lastly, I set my stove on a low simmer for a good hour before I even think of serving. We have had the crunchy jambalaya before & it’s not good.

Now, I have to think about tonight’s dinner…..

Responses

  1. Amy, Perfection!!! You did a great job on both meals, I’m so glad you and your family liked it! You made my day with your post today, Thank you.
    Marie

  2. Hi, Marie, I should be thanking you!!! I reread my post & I did not give enough credit to the flavor of the meal. The gorgonzola added just enough bite to my “chicken again” meal. Also, deglazing the shallots with white wine added a screen of sophistication to our family meal (I use the word “screen” because we are FAR from sophisticated at this house!).

    Another note: I had an extra chicken breast & A LOT of fresh spinach left over (thank you Costco!)…. So, just now I diced the breast & tossed it with spinach, the left over toasted walnuts & a balsamic vinaigrette – yumm, a healthy, tasty lunch!

  3. I love Jumbalaya–this looks great, flavorful and actually something you could eat without feeling gross afterward–my kind of dish. Nice work indeed!

  4. Wow! Both dishes look and sound absolutely delicious and healthy. Very nice!

  5. GIRL… I can’t keep up with all your blogging… you’re a blogging queen!! You’re blog is great… and it’s funny but after I look at my blogroll… it looks like I’m becoming more of a foodie than a craftie. HA HA!


Leave a Reply

Categories

