Posted by: familiabencomo | Friday, February 15, 2008

Valentine’s Day

If you are ever in need of feeling popular, then walk onto an elementary school campus toting a 2 dozen cupcake carrier. I felt like a rock star. In the past, I have always just kept the cupcakes in the baking sheets covered with foil which ruins any hopes of a beautiful presentation and is very awkward. However, yesterday I was able to show off my recent purchase with finesse. I glided out of the car, opened the door for my daughter, was able to hold her hand and everyone knew that we were having cupcakes. Ah, simplicity.

img_4142.jpg

I had planned to challenge myself with a new recipe for the kids, but my son didn’t seem to share the same enthusiasm and his teacher agree that we should stick to my tried & true recipe with chocolate chips added. To jazz things up I added pink icing which I normally skip because I am challenged in that area, but I made another purchase….. a cupcake decorator! I was able to ice all the cupcakes while on the phone and helping my son with his homework. Is there a greater sense of accomplishment out there?!?!

img_4140.jpg

The icing was so much smoother this time because I actually waited for the butter to warm to room temperature and I used my standing mixer instead of my hand mixer. Note on making frosting: pat down the powered sugar a bit to stick to the butter & don’t add all of it at once…. there is an explosive white plume of sugar once you turn the mixer on if you don’t heed these tidbits of advise…. fyi.

VANILLA BUTTER FROSTING (from my ancient Betty Crocker)

  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 3 cups confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp milk

Blend all until smooth.

Responses

  1. okidoki… those are just too cute!! 😉 i especially love how you did the frosting… now i’m gonna need a cupcake decorater thingie-ma-jig. ;p and i really LOVE your double cupcake carrier. where did you get that?? i NEED one. HA HA!! great job and i’m glad it was popular with the kids!!

  2. Amy, you ARE a Rock Star!!! Your cupcakes look fantastic, so professional! I’m quite impressed with that cupcake holder too, it keeps them secure and dosen’t ruin the frosting. I think I,ve seen something like that at Sur La Table, and Crate and Barrell, is that where you got it?

  3. You know I am loving these. They are perfect, my favorite color combination. Yay!

  4. Thank you, daahlings! The cupcake carrier came from Target as did my cupcake decorator – I was feeling frivolous that day.

    Lisa, you NEED the case with your eldest starting kindergarten this fall!

    Marie, grazie mille for “professional.” I should add that I took red sprinkles with me to the classroom for a last minute fancy-step.

    Cakespy, I LOVE this color combo too!!! I was thinking vanilla with chocolate polka-dots & a splash of pale pink – very happy, very whimsical.

    Tanti baci to all!

  5. Yum! Yum! I just got super hungry reading over your blog!

    Uh, could we order 5 or 6 of those cupcakes? 🙂

    V & family


Leave a Reply

Categories

