Posted by: familiabencomo | Friday, February 22, 2008

Californian Lemon Chicken Soup

The other night Alfredo had a hanker’n for some soup. I love it when he has something specific in mind because it makes my job easier. I had all the ingredients for a chicken soup – all I had to do was pick up a baguette & a roasted garlic loaf to make the meal more substantial.

Below is what I made. This soup was inspired by a soup we had about 5 years ago when we lived in Vancouver, BC. There is a restaurant named Stepho’s Souvlaki Greek Taverna on Davie Street that we started frequenting about once a week because everything was so D-lish & easy on the pocket. The first time we saw Stepho’s & the crowd waiting to go inside we thought “What a bunch of dorks!” It was cold, raining & the line went down the block. Little did we know that we would be doing the same on a regular basis with both of our kids in tow. Oh well. I call my version of the soup Californian instead of Greek because the lemons were freshly picked by my neighbor just that morning & the rosemary was trimmed from my backyard that afternoon.

img_4165.jpg

Californian Lemon Chicken Soup

  • 4-5 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 lemons
  • Fresh Rosemary
  • Olive Oil
  • 1 Carrot, diced
  • 1 Celery stalk, diced
  • 1 lg Shallot, diced
  • ½ gallon (8 cups) chicken broth
  • ½ cup uncooked Rice
  • 2 eggs

Heat oven to 350. Lightly coat bottom of baking dish with olive oil, place breast in dish, salt & pepper to taste, cover with lemon slices & sprigs of rosemary. Bake for 1 hour. Once baking is complete, dice.

In large pot sauté carrots, celery & shallots in olive oil until golden. Add broth, bring to a boil & add rice. Let simmer for ½ hour. Optional: add a bit of finely diced fresh rosemary. Add chicken & keep warm, but not at a steady simmer.

In three separate bowls place egg whites, egg yolks & juice of one lemon. Whisk the egg whites until they start to look fluffy, add slightly whisked yolks, and then add lemon juice. One ladle at a time, add some soup to this mixture until you have about 4 ladlefuls in the bowl. Then, add this mixture to your soup. Soup complete!

Responses

  1. Hi,
    The only thing i can say now is YUMMY,,, I like the way you are writing the posts .. these are really helpful as i was finding something new to make today!

  2. Amy, I love the way you roast the chicken first, I think it adds much more flavor. I never realized you whisk the egg whites too! I need to try to make this, it looks and sounds delicious!!

  3. WOW! Sounds and looks SO delicious! You make all of the recipes look super easy to make – easy to follow and fabulous pictures to look at. Inspiring to say the least! TFS!!

  4. This looks lovely and gentle on the system–sign me up! Sounds so flavorful–you really pay attention to detail!

  5. I am definitely making this one as well…wish I had those lovely lemons harvested from the neighbor’s tree!

  6. Thank you all for the nice comments. I much as I’d love to eat “high on the hog” every night, it’s important to have simple too – my waist-line & kitchen deserve the break.

    Buy Caviar – glad to have helped, let me know how it turns out.

    Marie – Yes, roasting the chicken makes a HUGE difference. I would be so flattered if you made this!

    Jane – This was easy, thank you. I’m hoping for a new camera….. I keep complaining to Alfredo. I want my pictures to look like Marie’s.

    Jessie – Yes, very easy on the system. Alfredo had his appendix taken out last October & we have to keep things simple periodically – it leaves room for more cake.

    Mom – I wish you were closer! My trifle bowl is filled with lemons, I have lemonade in the frig, I’m shoving them down my disposal…. you can have as many as you like! Liliane’s tree is quite the giver.


Leave a Reply

Categories

