Posted by: familiabencomo | Sunday, March 30, 2008

Daring Baker’s March Challenge

blue_db.jpg

Keeping a secret has been the most difficult part of this challenge….. For anyone who knows me well, knows that if you need to keep a secret, then just don’t tell me. However, I think that a certain level of maturity has set into my “young” soul. I was able to keep my trap closed for the whole month while awaiting the March 30th reveal of the Daring Bakers’ Challenge. Yay!!!

Since this was my first challenge, I tried to strictly follow the recipe – no added frills or finesse. I’m not that experienced of a baker to go out on my own, veer too far from the original recipe – still lack that confidence that comes though practice, patience & time. I did, however, make two slight alterations…. The recipe called for baking two cake rounds & then gently dividing each to make 4 layers – I simply recognized my limitations & baked 3 cake rounds. Then, I was suppose to pat coconut on the top & sides of the cake – I was wrestling SOOO much with the coconut that I just put it on the top & very bottom of the cake (perfect for disguising my icing flaws!).

img_4271.jpg
a quick photo before diving in

Overall, the whole experience was exquisite. I felt like I learned a lot and that this was a huge success. In fact, my family was surrounding me (salivating!) as I iced the cake. I made this the night before Easter & had planned to save it for the next day….. Then, the thought occurred to me – Why wait? I took a quick photo & we had cake for dinner! Life is so grand sometimes. And, we had PLENTY of cake for Easter too!!!

img_4285.jpg
No question, the PERFECT party cake

There are hundreds of other Daring Bakers out there who all posted on this same cake. Please take a look to see some of the AMAZING cakes my fellow bakers made: Daring Bakers’ Blogroll.
Recipe Used: PERFECT PARTY CAKE
Courtesy of Dorie Greenspan’s Baking from My Home to Yours (page 250).

Thank you, Morven, for picking such a great challenge!

Responses

  1. Hey now that looks like a tasty cake – your butter cream is SO white. Cute plate too – in my favourite colours.

    I’m glad you enjoyed the challenge.

  2. It looks great from where I’m sitting. I really like your cake stand 🙂

  3. Amy, Your cake looks fantastic!!! You did a great job my fellow DBer!! And your picture setting is gorgeous! Well done!

  4. I love your cake. It’s beauty is in its simplicity. Great first challenge.

  5. Gorgeous cake – perfect layers, and sooo white! Welcome to the Daring Bakers, you are going to fit in *perfectly* 🙂

  6. What a pretty cake Amy…the layers are PERFECT. What limitations you talking about dahling? It’s fabulous…& the maturity of your ‘young soul’ is hilarious!! Is this your first challenge? Great job…BTW, will reply to your mail in a bit; the day went in trying to make dinner rolls & deal with the kids!!

  7. Congrats, looks really PERFECT!

  8. Congratulations on completing your first DB challenge. Your cake looks so tender and moist!

  9. Flawless! Well done 🙂

  10. This looks simply WONDERFUL, Amy!! The coconut looks perfect, and the frosting so beautifully glossy–if I were in the same room as it with nobody else around, resisting the urge to take a fingerful would be quite difficult.

  11. mia cugina– WHERE do you live again? because we’ve got to come visit you. I’m salivating reading your posts and looking at those delicious pictures. My goodness, it’s like a song! well, i wouldn’t come just for the food you know! 🙂 – tho it looks “divina”–

  12. I get to brag about this cake! Amy, being the sweet friend that she is, brought this heavenly cake over as a treat. She actually left over half the cake with me. My youngest son (3 yrs old) and I managed to eat most of it in less than 2 days. It was THAT good. The layers were solid and even and OH! so moist! The layers of jam was just right! You know how sometimes you can have too much jam or not enough? Not with this cake! Perfect! The buttercream icing was so soft and creamy. The coconut wasn’t overwhelming… just enough for added texture and flavor. Fantastic, Amy! I am always here if you ever need a taste tester! Besos! Jane

  13. Fabulous job on your first challege! The cake looks perfect!

  14. Yay!!!! I’ve had some visitors! I just came back from my son’s swim meet & was showing Alfredo ALL of the different cakes my DB amigas have made & he ranked me as a “B time” compared to ALL of your “A times.” (Note to self: don’t show my husband the amazing work of my fellow DBers, don’t want to raise the bar too high!).

    Morven – Great challenge! Thank you.

    Maryann – Thanks, I have a friend who sells Southern Living at Home…. this actually isn’t a cake stand, but I rest a charger atop it to convert it to one.

    Marie – Thank you, hun. I’m learning from you.

    NinaBeth – Thank you. Simplicity is the way to go when you have 3 people sticking their fingers in my butter cream….. 5 minutes tops before we were slicing into it.

    Nemmie – thank you, sweetie. I’m lov’n it already.

    Deeba – Oh, thank you, my friend. Ask my husband about my limitations!!! I made the mistake of showing him YOUR cake.

    Zorra – Thank you, dear.

    Alpineberry – Yes, it was divine…. Alfredo is planning a dinner party around THAT cake.

    Alex – Thank you, sweets!

    Jessie – We were ALL testing the icing – you would totally fit in here. My only regret is that I didn’t use Vermont butter…. (deep sigh!).

    Ines – Mia cugina!!!! Come on over – Stace is coming this summer for some R&R. She doesn’t check my blog too often so she has no idea that she has to leave her diet in DC. 😉

    Jane – what a great friend you are!!! Who else, but someone near & dear can you share half a cake?!?! Thank you, sug. Yes, I will have you as part of my “test” kitchen. We should have a liquid meeting at Caper’s to discuss the details.

    Tartelette – Thank you. I think next time I will make smaller cakes & freeze them like you did. This really was a BIG cake.

  15. I agree, patting coconut on the side of a cake is NOT easy. Yours looks so nice though.
    I had 1/2 cake left over, so next time I will definitely make smaller ones!

  16. Perfectly white. Perfectly gorgeous! It’s about 6am here, yours is the first I’ve looked at today, and I still wish I had a piece to dig into! Such a very good cake, wasn’t it? And beautiful cake stand by the way…

  17. What a beauty! Congrats on your first challenge and for keeping it a secret! 🙂

  18. You’re cake is beautiful – I don’t see any flaws!

  19. What a perfectly pretty party cake!

  20. That’s a beautifully layered cake, and so pure white…awesome!

  21. Congrats on your first challenge- you did great!

  22. Fabulous!!! Beautiful cake, beautiful setting.

  23. Amy, your cake looks fabulous! I like everything about it – the layers, the filling, the frosting, you did such a great job! I am so excited to be a part of DB in April – for the first time!

  24. Wonderful job! Very pretty – I can see why the family was drooling!

  25. Congrats on a job well done! Your cake looks beautiful! Welcome to the Daring Bakers!

  26. YUMMMM!!! Congrats on your first challenge…the cake looks amazing and this is when I wish for smell-a-vision or better yet taste-a-vision – LOL!

  27. LOOKS DELICIOUS AMY, WISH YOU LIVED CLOSER…..

  28. your cake looks great. Well done

  29. Holy-smokes! I’ve never had SOOO many comments before – goodness! Thank you ALL for visiting.

    Lesley – your cake was stunning – I’m surprised there was a bite left!

    Kelly – thank you, dear! Mine falls short compared to yours.

    HoneyB – Thank you, hun! Is was difficult…. maybe I’m maturing?

    Barbara – Thank you, sweets! Flaws are my way of proving it was homemade (the cake has several in unseen places – trick photography).

    Ann – Thank you – maybe next time it can look like yours!!!

    Namratha – Thank you, dear. Yours is gorgeous!

    Pixie – Thank you, cutie! I loved every minute of it – I wish you could say the same.

    Mom – You should have been here!!!!

    Farida – Thank you, my friend! I can’t wait to see how you do next month – everything you touch is amazing!

    Amy – I love your name! Yes, well, you have a 5 yr old daughter too so you know how sticking & licking fingers are an obstacle that we face.

    Susan – Thank you, dear. Maybe with enough practice I can have my cake look like yours!

    Carolina – Next time, just come on over. I’ll make sure to let you know when I’m bake’n up something good.

    Aunt Jenny – That would have been fun to bake this for the WHOLE family – there was plenty. Come visit me! You’re always welcome.

    Jessica – Thank you very much! Wasn’t it fun?!?!

  30. Amy, what a beautiful cake! I’m glad you had fun with this month’s challenge and may I just add you have a beautiful family!

  31. Wow it so soft and yummy

  32. Dang, you kicked major booty for your first challenge. It looks absolutely perfect.

  33. Congratulations on a very successful first challenge. You cake looks really good.

  34. Great job! Your cake is beautiful. Welcome to the gang. bTw, I like the plate that your cake is on!

  35. Great job on your cake! It looks tasty and glad to know all enjoyed it! Welcome to the Daring Bakers!

  36. Maria – Thanks you, dear! You can ALWAYS say nice things about my family.

    Faery – Yes, it was!

    Danielle – Oh thanks! It was fun kick’n booty!

    Molly W – Thank you, it was a good start for me.

    Claire – Thanks, hun! I always like a nice cake plate to distract the eye from any decorating flaws on my cake.

    Gretchen – Thank you, sweets! Alfredo is already asking for me to make it AGAIN.

  37. Cake for dinner! What a wonderful idea! Your cake looks lovely, congratulations! Welcome to the Daring Bakers.


Leave a Reply

Categories

