Posted by: familiabencomo | Wednesday, April 9, 2008

Lemon Pound Cake

Nothing says Spring quite like a pound cake with fresh berries…. Oh, pure heaven! California is rich with abundant farmlands – you can pick up strawberries still warm from the day’s sun on almost any given street corner. Plus, I’m fortunate to have a neighbor with an enormous lemon tree that produces mammoth lemons most of the year. So, I have an endless supply of lemons and I naturally gravitate towards recipes with that happy, sunshiny flavor. Lemon + berries = cake…. Well, everything equals cake, right?

the freshest lemons

INGREDIENTS:(taken from About.com Southern Food)

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 5 eggs
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon lemon extract
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon rind

PREPARATION:

Beat butter in a large bowl at medium speed of an electric hand-held mixer; gradually add oil, beating until well blended. Gradually add sugar, beating well. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
Add flour to creamed mixture alternately with milk, beginning and ending with flour. Mix just until blended after each addition. Stir in lemon extract. Pour batter into a greased and floured 10-inch tube pan. Bake at 300° for 1 hour and 30 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center of the cake comes out clean. Cool in pan on a wire rack for 15 minutes. Remove from pan and place directly on wire rack.

NOTES: I realized after I poured the batter & there was A LOT extra that there is a special cake pan specifically for pound cakes…. It’s taller, slightly tapered with a hole in the middle. Ooops! I poured the extra batter into mini-loaf pans & gave them a to my son’s swim coaches – it’s always nice to share.

topped with homemade whipped cream!

This is a super-easy recipe with such a delicate taste. Alfredo had few servings AND had it for breakfast until we ran out…. which didn’t take long. I look forward to making this again soon.

Responses

  1. Amy, Can I come over for dessert?? Wow, that looks great! Those lemons look so good too, I wish I had a lemon tree out in my back yard. I’ll be looking forward to more “lemon” postings! 🙂

  2. Oh Amy…this is just perfect timing! Thanks for the recipe and inspiration – our neighborhood farmer market is starting up soon and you bet this will be one of the first recipes I try.

  3. A piece for me, too, please! Looks great!

  4. Sounds great! What a pretty cake plate!

    I plan to plant a lemon tree, after I remodel the driveway, lime too! YAY!

  5. Ohmigosh..so appetizing!!!

  6. The cake is lovely. Now just don’t ever upset your neighbor.

  7. Perfect timing… been looking for a recipe for my mini loaf pans. Sounds delicious!

  8. Marie – you are welcome any time. I recently found a great marinade with lemon that I will share soon – perfect for the bbq

    Carolina – you have to tell me where your farmer’s market is. The market at Santana Row is a bit upscale for the typical farmer’s market.

    Farida – Thank you, I’ll be sure to save you some next time.

    Lori Lynn – Having fresh lemon is heaven-sent. The cake plate was a steal from Ross – $9 – glad you like it!

    Mom – Thanks!

    Susan – Thank you, dear…. We make sure we stay on good terms with Liliane. It’s easy when your children adore her.

    Jane – you can’t go wrong with this recipe! You boys will love it.

  9. May I be your neighbour, swimming coach…anything? YUMMY…that cake looks GREAT!! Have made pound cakes sveral times, but have never seen butter & oil together. makes it sund interesting indeed. Must have been a LOT of batter Amy…lucky mini loaves!! Can see that the mint has grown too Amy…is that from your garden patch? BTW, will sign up for the book club soon. The kids are driving me UP THE WALL as there’s plenty to do in school suddenly! Tanti baci…

  10. Lemon is the most perfect type of pound cake, I think–rich, and dense, yet somehow refreshing. Oh my, and your presentation with whipped cream…absolutely decadent, and it looks like even corner-cutting little me could handle this one! 🙂

  11. I envy your endless supply of fresh lemons 😉

  12. A beautiful cake and a very informative blog. Thank you.

  13. Amy,

    I’ve just tagged you for a Six Word Memoir. If you would like to play (it is optional), please visit this link to see the rules: http://azcookbook.wordpress.com/2008/04/15/i-won-ice-cream-my-6-word-memoir/

  14. I’m so jealous too, LOVE anything with lemon especially dessert!! This looks so good, keep me a slice pleaseeee:)

  15. Amy, that dessert looks tasty. Lemon is a favorite of mine and the fruit looks sweet and delicious. Very nice!

  16. Hello again Amy…got an award for you!!
    http://passionateaboutbaking.blogspot.com/2008/04/malted-oat-pistachio-cookies-distinct.html
    Tanti baci…xoxoxox

  17. How great to get SO many (for me, anyway) responses! Thank you.

    Deeba – I would love to have you as a neighbor (I don’t know about a swim coach 😉 ) I cheated on the mint & bought it since mine is still trying to take root & isn’t thriving yet. I HAD to do something to make my dessert look half as good as yours. I will be waiting to see you on GoodReads…. anyone else care to join?

    Jessie – Yes, this recipe is great b/c there is no need for short-cuts – of course you could skip the lemon zest & buy the whipped cream (does that help?)

    Maryann – Our neighbor is great! She walked over Campari drinks for us last Sunday to help us cool off.

    Nina – Thank you, I feel like this is a learning process for me & I’m happy to share.

    Farida – Oh my! I have to give this some thought… Only 6 words?!?!

    Lorraine – I have a huge slice waiting for you…. Feel free to drop by anytime.

    Chuck – Thank you. Lemon is my favorite too, especially FREE lemon.

    Deeba – You’re such a hoot – what have I done to deserve your kindness?!?!

  18. looks wonderful this cake.
    olga

  19. Olga – thank you, dear! I love this recipe & keep coming back to it. I hope you have the chance to enjoy it too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

