Posted by: familiabencomo | Thursday, April 17, 2008

Marinata Diavola

In celebration of warmer, sunnier days and the dusting off of grills throughout the Northern Hemisphere, I am sharing with you my new-found marinade perfect for the open flame.

My idea of “perfect” by the way usually starts with the question, “Do I have to run to the grocery store with my kids?” Once I have confirmed “no,” I’m happy as a lark & set about preparing dinner. Last week, I had the pleasure of Spring Break…. It was great sleeping in a bit and keeping a loose schedule, but running errands was a nightmare. To occupy the 3 of us harmoniously, I took them to our neighborhood cabana EVERYDAY! This is the first year that I am NOT getting in the icy waters to ensure safety or because my youngest is complaining (ah, bliss!). So, to entertain myself for 5 hours I brought along several cookbooks to peruse & inspire. Micol Megrin’s The Italian Grill had several delightful recipes that were clearly explained & used readily available ingredients (yippie!). The one that caught my eye the most was Pollo alla Diavola because of its use of lemon, rosemary and garlic (all things I have in abundance!). Her recipe was more time consuming for me (keep in mind I was at the pool for 5 hours) so my version is just the marinade & not the salted-brine, lemon rub variety of hers.

MARINATA DIAVOLA

  • Fresh Lemon Juice
  • Fresh Rosemary, finely chopped
  • Garlic Cloves, finely chopped
  • Olive Oil
  • Kosher Sea Salt
  • Extra-Virgin Olive Oil
  • Cayenne Pepper, about 1/2 tsp

Sorry, you have to guess on the amount. I think I used about 3/4 cups of olive oil & the same amount of lemon juice. The amount I made was a lot more than I needed for one meal. This will be used for several meals (read: I have a quick dinner solution for those times when I’m in a crunch!). We grilled chicken breast one night and the family loved it. The other night I marinated shrimp with this sauce, sauteed them in a skillet & served it over pasta and the family really enjoyed it that way. So, this marinade is versatile.

Bon appetito!

after shaking it up

Responses

  1. What’s not to love about lemon garlic chicken with herbs?
    Amy, never have I considered using this delicious concoction on [duh] shrimp.
    Your shrimp suggestion will materialize itself at my dinner table, as soon as I get my hands on some fresh herbs. Thank you!

  2. Diavola is like Devil? Oh, scary:)) I usually make something similar to this, but you have more herbs involved:) Great recipe!

  3. I am so glad you left a comment on my blog (thank you)! 🙂
    I like your blog; you have a beautiful family, and really good family recipes. I must add a link on my blog, to visit more often…

  4. Sounds wonderful and I have all the ingredients on hand as well. Maybe I will get some shrimp or ahi and use this for my dinner this weekend! Thanks!

  5. Amy, I love the thought of having this on hand in my frig at all times. I think the possibilities are endless for this delicious marinade!

  6. Yummy…

  7. Amy, you have the best timing…next week is my week to host Sunday Family dinner and this sounds just perfect after the week/weekend I have ahead of me…thanks for the recipe!

    Hope you have a great weekend!

  8. I have a recipe for Pollo alla Diavola on the backburner. I have been optomistic and am waiting for full fledged BBQ season:D

  9. JUST IN TIME FOR GRILLING SEASON.. THANKS !

  10. That marinade looks wonderful, I will have to try it out.

    Also thank you for commenting on my blog.

    Vi xx

  11. Marysol – Isn’t it the perfect combination. Let me know how your shrimp turns out.

    Farida – Yes, Diavola = Devil which could either imply the spiciness of the cayenne or the fire from the grill. Diavola is also a great nickname for our little 5 year old girls 😉

    Medena – Oh, thanks you – I’ll adds yours to mine!

    Nicole – I bet this is great with the ahi. I’ll have to try that too. Thanks.

    Marie – I love having it on hand too! Trust me – it’s already saved me again this weekend.

    Mom – poetic!

    Carolina – Tell me how it goes. I love it that you have a big traditional meal each Sunday with your family.

    Bellini Valli – Oh! I’d love to see your recipe!

    Aunt Jenny – Your boys would love this – it has a little kick.

    Vi – I hope you like it. Your blog is great – very happy to comment on it!

  12. Devilishly delicious…I need rosemary urgently my dear!! I’m gonna make this & drizzle it merrily over everything…the tastes are RIGHT up my street!!! YUMMY!!

  13. Love this combination of ingredients, goes great with everything!! I love diavola too but I use lots of chilli and tomatoes too!!

  14. Deeba – send me your address. My rosemary is taking over my backyard!!! (Notice how I use it in EVERYTHING!)

    Lorraine – I’d love to see your recipe! That sounds super-yummy.

  15. This looks absolutely flavourful and I am going to marinate some chicken and grill it for dinner tonight!


Leave a Reply

Categories

