Posted by: familiabencomo | Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Thai Red Curry Shrimp Risotto

All of the planets were aligned last night as I hastily searched the blogmoshere for recipes that would materialize into dinner. I had little time, bare cupboards & zero patients to run to the store with the kids (I’m going to have to start going places with them one of these days!!!). Then, ta-da, I came across this amazing recipe on The Sugar Bar. It was an East meets West recipe that really spoke to my quest to make the “same-old” taste new again. I essentially had everything, however I did have to alter some of the ingredients or leave out others and in the end I made enough changes to merit a reprint of the recipe. MOST of the recipe is Diva’s so please check out her original before going by what I have here.

our D-lish meal!

Thai Red Curry Shrimp Risotto
from The Sugar Bar – her original recipe here

  • ž 1 ½ cup Italian arborio risotto rice
  • 6 tbs salted butter
  • ž Olive Oil
  • 5 green onions finely chopped (reserving some for garnish)
  • ž 5 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • Beet greens from 3 beets, thinly sliced
  • ž 1 tbsp Thai Red Curry paste
  • 6 cups chicken stock
  • 2 lbs shrimps
  • ž Chili powder
  • ž 5 whole garlic cloves
  • 1 cup parmesan cheese, finely grated
  • salt and pepper, for seasoning
  • a lemon

1. In a large skillet heat olive oil to a med-high temperature. Add whole garlic cloves, chili power. Allow the garlic to cook for a bit. Add shrimp, sauté until done, remove from pan, discard garlic & set aside.

2. Heat the butter in a saucepan. Pour the rice in and fry a little, coating all the rice grains with the butter. Add about 2 cups of stock in and let cook on a relatively low heat.

3. Back to the skillet… add more oil if need be to fry the chopped garlic and onions. Then add the beet leaves. Once cooked through, remove from heat and put aside.

4. When the stock in the saucepan starts to reduce, gradually add another ladle of stock and stir with a wooden spoon. Liquid can always be added into risotto but not taken out so you have to control this carefully until you get the consistency you want. Always let the liquid be absorbed into the rice before adding another ladle of stock.** This process will take about 15-20min. The rice will begin to double in size, giving you a lovely, glossy, thick texture. Now add the curry paste, seasoning and about two thirds of the cheese into the pan and give it a good stir. Reduce heat. Add the cooked beet leaves mixture, then the shrimps and stir.

5. Dish up! Garnish with grated lemon zest, the rest of the cheese and the remaining green onions. This should serve 6.

** Great tip, Diva! It’s SOO true.

I’m looking at the list of ingredients & can’t believe I had all that stuff at the house. Weird. So, the minute Alfredo walked through the door he said “Wow, it smells like a restaurant here!” That’s one of the highest compliments in this house. Then, beginning with the first bite, Alfredo continued to compliment the meal. “You should make this for when we have guests!” There you go… Highest compliment on a meal here at Casa Bencomo.

Along with the risotto, I served a simple salad with pickled beets. Ever since Susan at Food Blogga had a post on beet greens I have been buying these magical orbs weekly. That’s why I replaced Diva’s suggested cabbage leaves with beet greens. They really are a delight to use while cooking and high in the calcium we all need (please check out Susan’s Beautiful Bones: An Osteoporosis Food Event). And, pickling beets is super easy.

beet soaking in my sink – they are dirty little buggers!

Pickled Beets

  • 3 beet roots (save the greens for something else!)
  • ¼ cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp sugar

Scrub beets thoroughly. Wrap tightly in foil, place on baking dish. Bake at 375°F for 1 hour. Allow the beets to cool a bit – to a temperature you can handle. Then, simply slide the peel off the roots with you hands. WARNING: Do not wear white! Your hands & anything you touch will be “beet red.” Dice & add remaining ingredients. They are ready to eat immediately. I don’t know how long they last because we eat our within a couple of days. We love having them handy for salads.

pickled beets

Responses

  1. wish I was invited to Casa Bencomo’s too ;). Thai red curry paste and a lot of garlic sounds awesome. love what your risotto too – east meets west is always something quite amazing. x

  2. Your risotto sounds superb! I must admit I haven’t used curry paste at all, but after reading this I want to look for it and try it out. Do you think Whole Foods has it? BTW, I’m lovin the new plates!! Alfredo sounds like a very happy guy! 🙂

  3. Oh, I want to join the party!!!!:)) Diva has a great blog, and I printed a bunch of her recipes. It’s great you tried one of hers! Looks yummy!

  4. I love Thai curries! It’s great that you were able to adapt the recipe with the ingredients you had. That is part of the fun of cooking.

  5. Diva – it was like you were at the table as we sang your praises! I’ll have to check back with you on some more culinary delights.

    Marie – OK, I’m embarrassed to admit this…. My red curry paste is the “Taste of Thailand” packet that they have on the international aisle of any grocery store next to the cans of baby corn & coconut milk. They have a recipe on the back of the packet that I normally follow (I’m sophisticated like that). Thank you about the plates – this was the perfect inaugural meal.

    Farida – You are always welcome to pull up a chair at our table! I’m hoping to make your Zebra Cake very soon – that would have been the perfect dessert.

    Susan – Thank you, dear. Yes, cooking is more fun for me now that I not running to the store every time I’m lacking a specific ingredient. I feel so much more exposed to different flavors & techniques now that I’m blogging…. How did we survive before this?!?!

  6. Your risotto look wonderful Amy. so yummy!!! I never made risotto, Im thinking to make this!! xGloria

  7. Sounds fabulous. I usually have shrimp in the freezer, and curry paste and risotto on hand. Great recipe to remember without having to go to the store. Thanks Amy.

  8. Oh the shrimp risotto sounds wonderful. I will definitely try this one of these days. Don’t you just love the feeling of having all the ingredients on hand? I need to get my “well-stocked kitchen” back in the game of actually BEING well-stocked.

  9. Gloria – You MUST make risotto! There are a thousand different ways to prepare it & I promise you will not be disappointed.

    Lori Lynn – Your pantry & freezer sound like mine!

    Nicole – I will admit that there is a euphoria when I realize that I have ALL the ingredients for a recipe I want to try. These are the times that I truly believe that I’m an adult….

  10. You’ve hooked me–you’ve got shrimp and beets, some of my FAVORITE foods! (shh, don’t tell cake!). It sounds filling but still pretty light…wonderful work again. You’re becoming quite the gourmand!! I love it though, cos it’s all so accessible at the same time!

  11. Hi Amy,
    Yay! I’m so pleased to hear that beet greens have become a family favorite. They are good, aren’t they? Thanks for a most delicious recipe, which I’ll have to try soon! And thanks for spreading the word about Beautiful Bones. You’re a dear. 🙂
    -Susan


Leave a Reply

Categories

