Posted by: familiabencomo | Saturday, May 10, 2008

Chicken Piccata with Lemon, Capers and Artichoke Hearts

In celebration of Mother’s Day, I have a simple, tasty recipe for you to help answer that tiresome question, “What’s for dinner?” My friend Michelle shared this recipe with me the other day while we were watching our boys at swim practice. The flavor is full enough to satisfy the sophisticated pallets of our husbands and mild enough for all of our kids to ask for seconds. She recommends doubling the entire recipe & I full-heartedly agree. Although the Food Network summary states this recipe serves 4, doubling the recipe is more accurate for a family of 4 (especially if you have a growing boy who acts like you starve him to death between the 4 meals you already serve him daily!).

Chicken Piccata with Lemon, Capers and Artichoke Hearts

Copyright, 2006, Robin Miller, All rights reserved

4 (4-ounce) boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
Salt and ground black pepper
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1/2 cup dry white wine
1/2 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth
1 (14-ounce) can artichoke hearts, quartered
1/4 cup drained capers
1 cup quick-cooking brown rice

1/2 cup frozen lima beans
Place chicken in zip-top bags and pound with a meat mallet or rolling pin until 1/4-inch thick. Remove chicken from bag and season all over with salt and black pepper. In a shallow dish (or plastic bag), combine flour, lemon zest, paprika, and garlic powder. Mix well. Add chicken and turn to coat. Remove chicken from flour mixture and shake off excess flour.Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken and saute 2 minutes per side, until golden brown and cooked through. Add lemon juice, wine and chicken broth and bring to a simmer. Simmer 5 minutes, until chicken is cooked through and sauce thickens. Add artichoke hearts and capers and simmer 1 minute to heat through.
Cook rice according to package directions, adding lima beans at the beginning of cooking process. Serve chicken and sauce with rice.
Responses

  1. Happy Mother’s Day, sweety!
    About your comment on my page…as my bloke would say..”no worries, mate!” haha

  2. How can we both have boys who starve to death between full & wholesome meals??? They’re both the same age too bella!!! Great post, lovely lovely flavours…only no artichokes here; all I know is that they have hearts!!! HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY to you Amy. My daughter is driving me UP THE BEANPOLE, with her clandestine activities for Mother’s Day, while the son decided to come down with chicken pox!! Holy cow….but he did it!!! Life goes on…meanwhile, every muscle of mine is aching because I decided swimming would make the bones beautiful & am still desperately trying to overcome my fear of water!! I look like a joke in the pool, but am living with that too!! LOL. Tanti baci

  3. Happy Mothers Day!!! I do happen to have some leftover artichokes that need a home. This sounds great:D

  4. Okay, seriously Amy, I have to stop checking your blog so late at night – YUM!!! This looks amazing. Going into my files of recipes to try out.

    Happy Mother’s Day to you!

  5. Happy Mother`s day dear Amy!!! I really love artichockes!! xxGloria

  6. Happy Mother’s Day Amy! This dish looks like something I would enjoy…

  7. I just made a quiche with artichoke hearts. I used the frozen ones from Trader Joe’s and I thought they were very good.

    Happy Mother’s Day Amy!

  8. Maryann – Happy Mother’s Day to you! Thank you for for always being so wonderful…. muah!

    Deeba – You are TOO funny?!?! How is it that we both cook all the time yet our boys are always ravenous?!?! Poor thing must be miserable with those chicken pox. I guess the perk for him is missing school (poor you!). I hope he feels better soon. Now, you know if you swam at our cabana, then my son would “coach” you through the various strokes. He likes to offer tips to the moms swimming laps during adult-swim. Either he is good with his advise or the moms are quite patience & kind with him. The only warning is that he likes to time the adults….. Imagine my horror as he was chanting to Mrs. M to “come on & push it!” Every time I see her my face pales. Sooooo, your daughter is driving you bonkers? That’s a good thing. I think the girls get more into Mother’s Day than the boys. I’m so happy for you that your daughter wanted you to have a VERY special day – you deserve it! Tanti baci.

    Bellini Valli – Thank you! I saw your sweet Mother’s Day post and wish I had done the same – very nice.

    Carolina – Thank you, sweets! Let me know if you try anything. I’d love to hear how it turned out.

    Gloria – Feliz dia de las Madres! This recipe is muy facile – you’ll have more time to make dessert!

    HoneyB – Happy Mother Day to you too! Yes, this will put a smile on Grumpy’s face.

    Lori Lynn – Happy Mother’s Day to you too! Oooh, I love quiche, but I’ve only made it with spinach. I bet artichokes make it grand.

    Kisses to all! Now that Mother’s Day has passed I’m getting back in the kitchen. We had an out-to-eat weekend & I really missed the tranquility of my dinner prep-time and relaxing at home. Although, no complaints here about having a clean kitchen for 3 days!!

  9. I hope you had a great day with the family.

  10. Dear Amy, a fast note to say you I place the recipes of Look what I made! I try if you want to look. May you say to Farida please??? I place her blog but I have to go out now with Mom and come back soon. I will tell to others later.xxxGloria

  11. Happy Mother’s Day Amy! This looks delish (as always). Chicken Piccata is the very first dish I ever made all by myself!

    Not looking forward to my son becoming that ravenous!

  12. i love artichokes. somehow it has a very homey, motherly feel to it. you’ve made me miss my mum!!! x

  13. Amy! My mouth is watering! Thanks for sharing your awesome recipe and I will be sure to try it out this week! Hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day celebration! Muah!

  14. I love making piccata with artichokes, all these gourmet meals!! Your family must be in heaven!
    I’m with LoriLynn on the Trader Joes frozen artichokes, they taste amazing! Right now I have 6 bags in my freezer(can you tell I’m obsessed??)
    I hope you had a wonderful Mothers Day with your sweet family Amy!
    xoxo, Marie

  15. Ha! I have one of those growing boys that I feed all day long. I swear I don’t know where he puts it. Your recipe for piccata looks wonderful. Something my whole family would enjoy for sure 🙂

  16. Amy, Happy belated Mother’s Day! I’ve been crazy busy with kids these days. The boy is crawling and is on the go go all the time. I am too, as a matter of fact:)

    I love your chicken recipe. It would satisfy my demanding palate too:)

  17. Cynthia – thank you, dear, I did. Congratulations on your book!

    Gloria – I love the recipes you posted & let Farida know that you have them up. It sounds like you had a lot of fun preparing it all!

    Nicole – That’s funny! I think my first “dish” was this overly sweetened with honey chicken thing that no one asked for the recipe. 😦 Yes, one day your son will eat you out of house & home…. You will love though because you feel great satisfaction in knowing that he’s well-fed.

    Diva – Aaaw! I’m sorry, dear. Call your mom quickly! I hope you can visit soon. Here’s a big mama hug & kiss to you (muah, muah)

    Yulie – Thank you, my friend! I hope your first “official” Mother’s day was great. Your baby is going to be one very soon. Have you gone overboard with party preparations?

    Marie – Thank goodness for Trader Joe’s. I love their granola & organic plain yogurt. Sometimes I send Alfredo there to pick up a “tapas” dinner. Plus, the wines are so well priced. It’s good to be obsessed with artichokes – they have a lot of heart!

    Lori – Thank you, dear. It’s a shame that these kids can eat all they want AND still look underfed. Whereas I look well-fed & practically starve myself! Argh! Anyhoo, this recipe was successful with everyone – even my little princess asked for more which she NEVER does.

    Farida – Happy Mother’s Day to you too! Well, it’s all over for you. Once those boys are mobile you never sit until kindergarten. When my son was 16 months we celebrated his 2nd Christmas without a tree b/c we were afraid he would climb it. AND, for about a year & a half we would stow our dining room chairs in the closet until we were going to sit for a meal b/c my little spiderman loved to push them around to climb on any & everything. Now, I miss my little monkey-boy – he really was cute like that. Just know, Farida, that this is short-term. Big kisses to you!

  18. Happy Mother’s day Amy!!:) this recipe looks delicious, I love the combination of lemon and capers with chicken and the artichokes makes it even nicer!!

  19. Yummmmmm! My mouth is watering! You are right. This recipe is a must try!

  20. Lorriane – Thank you, sweetie! Happy Mother’s Day to you too. Yes, the combo of flavors was great. My favorite part was adding lemon zest to the flour before coating the chicken in it – this was new to me.

    Jane – Tell me what your boys think of this when you try it. 😉

  21. Happy Mother’s day! (late, but sincere)
    Great recipe; my daughter is like your son, she is 8 and a half, and always hungry! 🙂
    I got a lot of chicken dishes lined up to try…Yum!

  22. Medena – Thank you, honey! Happy (late) Mother’s day to you too! How funny that we both have 8 yr olds – mine will be 9 in August 😦 They grow too fast.


Leave a Reply

Categories

