Posted by: familiabencomo | Thursday, May 15, 2008

Cowboy Caviar

I found out the other day that a dear friend is moving to Texas…. I refuse to be sad because I know this is a great opportunity for her family. Although, the truth be told, I am feeling a wee-bit sorry for myself because my friend is such a delight to be around and our girls are the best of friends….. (big sigh!). Soooo, to keep a positive outlook, I’m sharing this recipe with all of you in hopes that she has at least one appetizer to help set the mood for this big move to the Lone Star State.

COWBOY CAVIAR

  • 1 15-oz can black beans
  • ¼ cup red onion, finely chopped
  • 2 lg garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp ground cumin
  • ¼ tsp cayenne pepper
  • ¼ cup finely crumbled feta cheese
  • ¼ cup cilantro leaves, chopped

Drain black beans and place in a large bowl. Add onion, garlic, oil, vinegar, salt, cumin, and cayenne pepper. Stir until thoroughly combined. Cover and chill if serving later. Before serving, top with feta cheese and cilantro. Serve with tortilla chips.

our little cowgirls

Best of luck, my friend! Once you’ve settled in I’ll send you those recipes for Road-Kill Ragu & Armadillo Pie that every true Texan adores!

OH! And, thank your mom for the Meyer lemons from her tree (boy, do I love lemons!). You’d better enjoy those while you can… they’re a bit tricky to find in Texas. Below is a photo of what I made with them – another great recipe found on Susan’s Food Blogga site.  Originally, it called for lemonquats (!?!?!), but the Meyer lemons were a perfect substitute.

Coconut-Lemon Tea Cake

Responses

  1. The recipe is nice but the cowgirls are really cute!!!!!Besos Gloria

  2. Please don’t think I wanted to make this picture not!! I was experimenting and this I have, so you may see one eye!!! xGloria

  3. Gloria – Thank you, dear…. I totally agree! BTW, I love your avatar photo – it has the hint of “mystery” to it.

  4. Pura casualidad Amy really Im not misterious!!! ji
    But I agree with you!

  5. Great snack – the gang is all here this weekend – I think this will do the trick just nicely. Thanks for the recipe

  6. Amy I’m sorry your friend is moving away, but I’m sure she’ll always be your friend! The cowgirls are real cuties! And the meyer lemons….well, I’m jealous! I have never been able to find them in our area. 😦

  7. Well then you have an excuse to travel and visit! And visa versa. The dip looks great and the girls look like such great friends.

  8. Its so hard when friends move away. 😦
    Those girls are totally adoreable together! This caviar is a quick dip for the sumertime and I love the feta added. But now, I’m really curious about that roadkill ragu!

  9. Oh Amy, I can imagine the void you feel; but you are a brave gal! Your little cowgirl & her frind are too sweet for words; what great pictures & memories! Can see you overtaken your kitchen again & are being ‘run ragged’. Love the dip & the cake. Must have tasted fab with fresh lemons…may I drop by??? Tanti baci..

  10. Aaah… All of you are really sweet to care that my daughter & I will be missing our friends!

    Gloria – Either way, it’s fun to play around with your photo! Judging by the one eye – you’re muy bonita!

    Giz – Thank you! I love it that you share your blog with your daughter – how fun!

    HoneyB – I know you understand losing friends right now with those boys graduating. I totally agree with you that we’ll continue to be friends. This was the first time that I myself have ever used Meyer lemons &, well….. They were wonderful! I also used them for scones & they were magical!

    Nicole – Absolutely! Do we even really need an excuse for travel? The girls became friends before we did & THEY introduced us to each other. The good thing is that the grandparents are local so I’m sure to see them a couple of times a year (I hope!).

    Marie – Thank you, sweetie. I have another dip that is also perfect for the summertime that I like to serve with this one, but I have to make another trip to our favorite TJ’s for one particular ingredient…. Hopefully, I won’t keep you waiting too long. The roadkill ragu is just a joke with my friend. She is SOOO nervous about Texas – the scorpions, various types of cowboy boots, big hair, belt buckles…. I just wanted to add a little humor to it. My goodness, can you imagine!?!?!

    Deeba – You are welcome any time – no reservation required! Thank you for the sweet words…. I wasn’t nearly as sad as I am now after reading all of these kind comments. 😦 Yes, finally back to my “beloved” kitchen! I’ll be busy this weekend with the DB challenge – ay carumba! Fortunately, my boys will be gone most of the day Saturday & Sunday so I will not constantly be bothered with making breakfast, lunch & all of the clean-up involved with both. I’ll have Gabriella help me. Tanti baci to you, my friend!

  11. Amy, so sad your friend is leaving but I am sure you’ll stay friends forever, distances don’t matter when people love and understand each other (sounds like a love story???):::)

    Your your cowboy caviar sounds yummy! I should give it a try when I feel cowgirlish:)) The girls are cutie pies, so sweet!!!

  12. Oh no…sorry to hear about your friend moving away. The pic of the girls is so adorable and I’m sure it will be so hard on them too – maybe they can try being pen-pals or something!

    Thanks for recipes, I like them both, but the lemon – YUM!!! Another one to try out! Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

  13. Well Amy- I was going to give you my advice, that you can still be great friends even with the distance, as I have with a few of my dearest. But, you know, forget that, sometimes things suck (pardon me), that is one of them.

    Your cake looks really good!
    The cowgirls, too cute!

  14. I’ve heard about this Cowboy Caviar before 🙂
    Looks like something fun to try.

    Your cake is pretty! I absolutely LOVE Meyer lemons.

  15. Farida, daahling – So true – love story & all! Thank you for the “cutie-pie” comment…. I couldn’t agree more! Take pictures when you are feeling cowgirlish – that sounds fun!

    Carolina – That’s a great idea about being pen-pals. They already draw pictures for each other for us moms to “mail.” We could get them to make their cards too!

    Lori Lynn – Girlfriend, you said it! I’ve tried saying it other ways, but I keep coming back to that one word…. no pardons necessary!

    Lori – Yes, it is fun to try!!! Especially with a watermelon margarita & a big steak on the grill. Life can be so grand!

  16. Cowboy caviar is a true Texas treat…and I’m envious and excite about anyone moving to my favorite state!!! Great food adventures await!!

  17. “Cowboy caviar.” That’s too good, Amy. And your cowgirls are simply precious. I’d love to spend an afternoon baking with them.

    I’m so happy that you liked the cake. It’s my mom’s new favorite now too. Yours looks beautiful. Thanks again! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

