Posted by: familiabencomo | Thursday, June 5, 2008

Barbecue Chicken Pizza

Aaaaarrrrrgh! Just one more week of school left…. I’m currently in panic mode trying to get everything done before next Wednesday. Why does being Room Mom seem so much fun in September, but by June you want to hide? The worst part is that Thursday is the official beginning of Swimsuit Season. Great. I have thoroughly enjoyed cooking & baking so many heavenly meals & desserts the last several months & its starting to show. So, on top of being crazy-busy I’m trying to lose 10 lbs…. My family loves being around me right now.

All of this panic led me to a great dinner solution – Barbecue Chicken Pizza. I had read on HoneyB‘s blog about how she made a pizza with a ketchup base. I haven’t tried her recipe yet, but it got my wheels spinning. Instead of using ketchup, I could use barbecue sauce! Having the sauce ready makes pizza a snap.

Pizza Dough

  • 1 Cup warm Water
  • 1 pkg Active Dry Yeast
  • 3 Cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1/2 Tsp Salt

Combine water & yeast first. Add about half the flour, mix well. Then, add oil, salt & remaining flour. Dust flour on the counter & “work” the dough for about 5 minutes adding flour if it feels sticky. Place dough in a lightly oiled bowl, cover with towel & let it rest for about an hour until it doubles in size. Once risen, place on lightly dusted counter again, divide it in two (or more) balls & cover again for 15 minutes. Finally, dough is ready to be shaped, topped & baked.

Pizza Topping

  • Barbecue Sauce
  • Mozzarella Cheese, grated
  • Rotisserie Chicken, shredded
  • Red Onion, thinly sliced
  • Cheddar Cheese, grated (just a bit on top)

Once dough is ready, shape it on an oiled pan. Dust corn meal (I heard this somewhere & it seems to work). Spoon sauce on dough, add toppings . Bake on 400 for approximately 20 minutes.

Honestly, it’s impossible to feel frantic when your having pizza for dinner. Your kids totally forget that you have been snapping at them all day & think that you’re the best mom in the world. Your husband thinks your genius by whipping together such a tasty, happy meal (Oh, I forgot to mention that it’s best to hide the bottle of bbq sauce & any evidence of the rotisserie chicken – you get more accolades!). And, for yourself, there is the satisfaction of ending the day with everyone happy despite the chaos that was running amok for those 12 hours before dinner. Aaaah, serenity.

Responses

  1. bbq sauce on pizza is always my favourite. if i’m going all out for greasy yummy pizza it’s definitely Domino’s Texas BBQ. this looks great!

  2. Amy, I like to make pizza on the grill in the summer and this would be perfect! Quick and easy! and we won’t tell any one about the rotisserie chicken. xoxo
    Marie

  3. ok I’m jealous again…I want pizza!!! Next visit must include this!!! Anchovies anyone?

  4. BBQ chicken pizza is one of my favorites! Unfortunately I am not that daring when it comes to making a good pizza:) But I think I will try eventually. Yours looks so yummy, I am inspired!

  5. Diva – I had no idea Domino’s made this pizza too! I bet you could make an incredible pizza – you’re so talented.

    Marie – Ooooh! I love it! On the grill sounds SOOO wonderful & my non-ACed house stays cool…. Life can be so grand.

    Mom – Absolutely! We can experiment with different cheeses & topping.

    Farida – If anyone can make a great pizza, then it’s you! everything you do is amazing. This would be a breeze. In the past, I have mixed fresh herbs in the dough – you could do this & use topping more commonly found in Azerbaijan to make the pizza really reflect you.

    Besos to all!

  6. YUM YUM YUM…bella, I’m coming over coz I need to be spoiled. Promise I’ll be good, clear up & even forget the SNAP SNAP! LOL…great write-up…just like a replay of life here currently; only that hols are well underway!! This pizza looks like a winner all the way. I do what Farida does too…I use fresh or mixed dried herbs, as well as roasted garlic in the dough. Good practice Amy…& about the 10lbs…shiver me timbers!! Live it up gal!! Tanti baci

  7. Dear Amy I know absolutely about what you talk, when I made pizza everybody is happy and relax! didn’t ?? Bu the next time I will try your dough recipe!! look so yummy!! xxxxGloria

  8. My dear, when you are done with running around meeting deadlines, please come over for some tea with me. We can try baking in my little kitchen while our children play Wii! Yummy looking pizza! I love to mix roasted garlic into my dough… well, when I used to make my own dough! lol! Hang in there, chica! love and hugs, Jane

  9. You know I still haven’t tried any pizza with chicken!!! I know, I need to ditch the rock Ihave been under:)
    This is simple, I make pizza with my kids sometimes (oh they love it), and will try it!
    I have tagged you, hope you don’t mind. If you have time, check out my blog… it’s a simple one… 🙂

  10. Sounds like you have a crazy week ahead of you – hang in there, it’s almost over!

    Thanks for the delicious pizza recipe – YUMMO!

  11. Deeba, daahling – So glad to hear that snapping at the kids is a global issue not just something that I have perfected! I thought of you this weekend while I was roasting in the hot sun at a swim meet. There was a 90 year old (or older!) woman in a gorgeous silk sari – the silk was like butterfly wings, very thin. I know you don’t wear saris, but this woman looked so comfortable in the heat while the rest of us were melting. It just reminded me that while I “think” I’m suffering from the heat here, you must really feel the heat there. Soooo…. maybe you could try the pizza on the grill like Marie suggested so that your home stays cool inside. Tanti baci!!!

    Gloria – Oh good! I bet you work wonders with it. I’ve noticed that you are really good with dough. Also, have 2 teens makes pizza an essential meal. I bet they could eat it everyday!!! Muchos besos, amiga!

    Jane – I know!!! We need a good sit-down, don’t we? I would love to come over with the kids (after this week!) & bake up something sweet. It could be a summer celebration playdate. Of course, if your willing to get into a bathing suit, then we could head over to the cabana…. open invitation. Tanti baci & HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

    Medena – With all the wonderful food you prepare I’d hardy say that you live under a rock because you haven’t had chicken on a pizza!!! You could make this with your daughter & have a lot of fun with it. Thanks for the tag – of course I don’t mind! I will confess that it might take me a few days (week) to get to it…. unless I decide to procrastinate on my projects, like now….

    Carolina – Thank you, hun! I’m starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel which makes the next 3 days more exciting – it actually is starting to feel like “my” summer break coming! Why should the kids have all the fun?

    besos to all!

  12. Love this idea for a pizza…it gets the ideas rolling for me. Hope you all are doing well, and that you make it through this week!!

    Love, Ashley

  13. Well imagine my suprise when I get to your blog this evening! I love BBQ Chicken pizza too (along with Buffalo Chicken which I have also blogged about!) Grumpy doesn’t care for the BBQ though so I have to make personal pan ones!

    Hope all is well in your neck of the woods. In my area we are dealing with extremely high temps (not the norm for us!)

  14. Amy,Amy How are you dear I have a minute and come for a while!!!! misss you!!! I know you are soooo busy!!!! besos amiga, Gloria

  15. only 10 pounds? HA I only wish 🙂

  16. Yay! The last day of school is finally here! Thank you, everyone, for all the nice notes & phone calls I have received. It’s funny to get these words of encouragement when I know we’re all busy & my mania is no different from anyone else’s….. BUT, it does help!

    Ashley – sweet cousin, thank you! If you made this pizza (or one similar – I have an earlier post “Festa Italiana” with pepperoni), then ALL of your nephews would worship you more than they already do. Let me know if you try it. Big kisses!

    Honey B – I thought you might be surprised! I have to give credit where credit is due & the pizza you made really inspired me. It’s terrible that you all are dealing with this heat over there – check out Deeba’s post on mango ice cream – super easy, super tasting & oh so perfect for the heat!

    Gloria – Thank you for dropping by. In about a day things should be back to “normal.” By this time tomorrow, my biggest complaint will be getting enough sunscreen on the kids. 😉 Besos!

    Maryann – Well, truth be told, I live in a fantasy world & “10 lbs” is all I will admit to!

  17. The pizza sounds mighty tasty, Amy!
    I attended a Kindergarten graduation (so cute) as well as 8th grade graduation (very impressed with our future leaders) yesterday, as I work at a school. Good for you, Room Mom, although now at our school we are calling the job, Grade Parent, as we have some Dads too.

  18. Lori Lynn – How wonderful that you work at a school! I love helping out with the classroom. Yes, the official title is Room Parent at my son’s school because, you’re right, there are a lot more dads volunteering. Being in the classroom has been one of the best experiences for me – I know just about ALL 87 students in my son’s grade & I imagine that this will be a great benefit in about 5 when he enters high school (impossible!). Happy summer, Lori Lynn!

  19. The only problem with making bbq pizza is that I eat too much of the bbq before I finish making the pizza. Sounds super delicious, Amy!

  20. Amy, dear, remember to show your neighboor OUR endives produced in CHILE. Yes, yes, Im really soooo bad I know!!! Gloria

  21. Susan – We love bbq sauce too – the kids always ask for that in lieu of ketchup with their fries. If your bbq lasts, then try the pizza. You’ll be happy you did!

    Gloria – You are such a naughty chicita! I will mention to my neighbor about the availability of endives in Chile. I’m sure she’ll be shocked! Besos.

  22. try using pesto as a base – that works really well too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

