Posted by: familiabencomo | Wednesday, July 2, 2008

Power Bread

WARNING: This bread is not for the faint of heart.

A few weeks ago I was researching nutrition for young athletes. My son is in constant motion and we worry that his diet isn’t keeping up with his activity. Despite going through 5 gallons of milk a week and feeding him constantly throughout the day, Alfredo & I still have concerns about providing him what his body needs. I came across a lot of information that I already knew: keep hydrated, carbo-load, stay away from sugars. Yes, yes, yes – I get all that. What I was really looking for was an easy answer. Someone telling me “Feed your child this.” I didn’t exactly find something as straight forward as that, but I did find a great “common-sense” article & this recipe for Power Bread on iVillage.

POWER BREAD

Ingredient Group A

  • 1 cup whole wheat
  • 1 up all-purpose flour
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2/3 cup nonfat dry milk
  • 3 cup wheat germ
  • ½ cup packed brown sugar
  • ½ cup chopped walnuts
  • ½ cup unsalted, dry roasted peanuts
  • ½ cup dried cranberries

Ingredient Group B

  • 1/3 cup chopped dried apricots
  • 1/ 2 cup canola oil
  • 1 /2 cup molasses
  • ¾ cup orange juice
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 medium bananas, mashed
  1. Mix together Group A in a large bowl.
  2. Whirl Group B (except apricots) in a blender (please note: too much liquid for an average food processor).
  3. Add apricots and whirl just to chop coarsely.
  4. Pour Group B into bowl with group A and blend until moistened.
  5. Pour into two greased bread pans and bake at 325 for one hour or until center is firm when pressed lightly.

This bread is best if wrapped tightly in plastic and stored overnight for flavors to blend. This bread is a good source of carbohydrates, protein, calcium, iron and vitamin A.

FINAL VERDICT:  There is no denying that this is healthy.  The bonus is that it’s tasty as well.  We all enjoyed a slice last night, but no one asked for seconds.  My son & I had a slice for breakfast….  I may have to freeze the second loaf for the next swim meet.  For me, I have to resist the urge to spread cream cheese all over it or toast it & add butter.  I do recommend trying this recipe, especially if you have an active child or if you act like a child – it’s good for you!

Responses

  1. I wonder if Grumpy would allow me to substitute this bread for his very expensive power bar? It looks good! Actually, sounds good too. It has ingredients that I enjoy!

  2. Woohoo…power bread Amy. That’s a packed powerhouse in there. Saw Gianluca racing around the place in my mind…& the good Mom (& worried Dad) in the background. Am sure my 2 would love this…cream cheese is a good idea! What goes up (in in this case), must come down the hips in this case)…so do not fret bella. We have one life…live it up!
    I was really non chalant about ’em loos…ho hum…it’s their world!! LOL…Will wait for you to visit! Tanti baci dear girl
    Deeba

  3. It’s looks super yummy! I think I would have gone for the cream cheese without hesitation though! lol!

  4. Me three on the cream cheese, I’m useless at staying healthy, I always have to add something. Well done you for making it for your little athlete:)

  5. That reminds me of a “high nutrition” muesli I bought once. It tasted great, but was so densely packed with fibre I felt like I’d eaten the trunk of a tree.

  6. Hi Amy – the bread sounds perfect! I’m with you on the addition of cream cheese. Just a little couldn’t hurt?

    I have been traveling, so I did not get the chance to thank you for all the lovely comments you posted on my blog. You are so dear! I am back now, and happy to be visiting all my blogger friends, again.

    Happy Fourth of July to you and your family!

  7. Excellent idea for the next swim meet! Great source of energy and carbs!

  8. HoneyB – This is sooo much more tastier than those power bars. In fact, that’s what prompted me to look for this type of recipe. Grumpy will think you’re a genius if you replace his power bars with this!

    Deeba – Yes, worried dad is right! I don’t know about “good” mom…. most days I guess. Every since I saw your photos from your trip to southern India, I’ve been brainstorming on how I could talk Alfredo into a family trip….. I bet if there were a swim meet, then we would be on the next flight. I will make a mental note of warning about the open air loos and keep my fingers & legs crossed that I will not need them!

    Jane – Next time I make this I will just have to buy some cream cheese too! My son loves it. Of course, he’s watching the US Olympic Swimming Trials & he believes that every bit is one step close to the 2016 US Swim Team…..

    Lorraine – I’m sitting here wishing I had some cream cheese in the house. Everyone is still asleep & no one would know! I’m useless too at staying healthy – I only do it to justify dessert.

    Tim – Yes, tree trunk and this bread go hand-n-hand….My boys love it! My daughter & I are sticking to ice cream as a snack – we have balance.

    Lori Lynn – Thank you, dear! I hope you had a great Fourth of July too! I saw the culinary adventures you had on you trip…. Oh my! I love going to restaurants that pair new flavors together for you. Gourmet popcorn & french fries!!! I love it.

    Mom – You should try this. It makes a lot of bread, but it’s easy to store. Trust me, a little slice goes a long way!

    Besos to all! Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

  9. Hi Amy, I think this would be great for all of us to have a slice of this in the morning to start the day off right. I’m passing this along to my son, 1 year ago he lost 50 lbs when he joined a local community park ” Biggest Loser Boot Camp” he did it 3 times and , then he walked in a 5k, started to jog, and found out he loves to run, which he does daily. He has been in 10k’s and runs 15 miles with no problem. He has signed up to run in the Chicago Marathon in Sept. and is in training now with a group, he is putting us all to shame!!! He would absolutely love this bread! I should be a good Mom and make it for him, and print out the recipe and give it to him. Thanks Amy!

  10. This recipe is really a good one – the ingredients look alot like energy bars and they’re packed with good fiber, potassium, magnesium, good carbs and calcium. Way to go mom!!!

  11. LOve this bread look so tasty,dear Amy, I want to try!!! xxxGloria

  12. Marie – Wow! Way to go Marie’s son! Absolutely share this recipe with him. It tastes so much better than those power bars. Also, you can tweak it to have more of the stuff you like – the original recipe called for raisins which I don’t like at all. I bet if I added chocolate chips, then my daughter would love this one too. I can’t believe that your son is now training for the Chicago Marathon?!?! You know a lot of people (I hear) see the world based on the marathons hosted. That would be such a great way to travel.

    Giz – Thank you, dear. My son keeps me striving for the good stuff & my daughter keeps me balanced with the bad – thank heavens for both of them!

    Gloria – Oh please come over! I’ll have some tea waiting for your visit. xoxox

  13. I was just searching the internet for some sort of health/power bar to bake for the kids. Something healthy yet tasty. I can’t wait to try this recipe out on them. Thank you!

    You must be tired from the weekend of FW. Hope all went well!


Leave a Reply

Categories

