Posted by: familiabencomo | Saturday, October 11, 2008

Hello!

I wanted to write a quick note to let you know that I am still around…. Goodness, I can’t believe how quickly the time has flown by! Today is the annual walk-a-thon and silent auction at my children’s school. I’m up extremely early with anticipation because this one day is the culmination of 6 months of planning. Part of me wants to complain about being so busy, but in truth I’m blessed to be able to work on this project for my children’s school.

Anything for the students – this is me as the school’s mascot during lunch!

I’ll leave you with a great after-school snack. This is a healthy, tasty & easy treat. Perfect for those busy days when you only have a few moments at home before you have to run off to the next thing. Also, the fresh fruit adds Vitamin C, potassium, fiber & antioxidants to keep your immune system strong.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Split Sandwich

(found in the latest Splash magazine)

  • 2 slices whole grain bread
  • 1 T all-natural peanut butter
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • 2 t honey
  • 1 large strawberry, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 small banana, thinly sliced
  • 1 tablespoon 100% strawberry fruit spread

Stir PB, honey & cinnamon together. Spread onto one slice of bread. Evenly place strawberry & banana slices onto bread. Spread other slice of bread with fruit spread. Carefully assemble sandwich. Toast on skillet or panini cooker.


Responses

  1. Thank goodness there’s movement here again bella. You look darned good as the mascot…LOL…must be warm in there. Great to see you talking food- healthy & full of anti-oxidents…YAY!! Welcome back Amy; it’s great to have you back! Tanti baci, Deeba

  2. You look good in blue, Amy!

    Nice to hear from you.

  3. It’s good hearing your voice Amy!!
    xoxo, Marie

  4. Its great to hear from you again!

  5. I think I can speak for us all and say that we have truly missed you! So glad to see your smiling, if a bit blue and furry face!

  6. I hope the walk is a huge success. And I love that sandwich. I’ve made a slightly different version, and it’s sooo much better than a basic pb&j sandwich. Have fun with your kids.

  7. Ooooh, it’s sooo good to hear from you all! I have a lot of catching up to do since I miss visiting ALL of your blogs. The walk-a-thon went really well – I was super-tired & spent all day Sunday relaxing at a swim meet. The silent auction was a great surprise this year – I got out bid on everything (happy husband, I assure you). Overall, the day was perfect & well worth the months of planning.

    xoxox Amy

    P.S. Bobbie the Bobcat just makes one appearance a year during lunch….. Thank goodness! There’s tons of middle schoolers who fill those paws on the day of the fund raiser.

  8. WOW – that sandwich sounds great!

  9. Amy!!!!!!! Im hapy you come back, we miss you a lot!!! xxxGloria

  10. Oh wow, that sounds so good, you are right, the perfect snack!

  11. Amy, You look great in blue! 🙂

  12. …and how hot were you in that costume. I’ll bet you were more than happy to get it off.

  13. Sounds like such a yummy sandwich! Unfortunately, we just found out that Ken has an allergy to peanut butter. 😦

    You look terrific in blue, my friend! Way to go, mom! I bet the Catwalk was a huge success!

  14. Dear Amy I come to visit you, How are you!!! xx Gloria

  15. cute mascot! in all honesty, i’ve never had a grilled peanut butter sandwich – maybe i shd give it a try but this snack is what my best friend loves for breakfast!! 🙂 what are the chances..hope u’re well amy! x

  16. Hi dear,
    how are u? just dropped by to say hi. 🙂


Leave a comment

Categories