Posted by: familiabencomo | Wednesday, February 18, 2009

Sweet Potato Soup

I know, I know….  It’s been a long time since I have posted anything and I honestly don’t want to sound too pathetic, but I’ve been busy (plus, I’m terrible at managing my time!).  Having 2 kids in school this year actually means twice as many field trips, twice as many parties to plan, and twice as many times I’m in the classroom helping.  I honestly thought it would mean twice as many manicures and coffee dates.  Darn.

Rest assured I have still been feeding my family.  I have even been taking some pictures every now and then….. It’s the sitting down & typing part that’s holding me up.  However, last night I was inspired.  A friend from college sent me a recipe that was so easy & tasty that it had to be shared immediately.

Sweet Potato Soup

Sweet Potato Soup

SWEET POTATO SOUP

2 red bell peppers, seeded and cubed
generous 4 cups diced sweet potatoes
1 onion roughly chopped
2 large garlic cloves, roughly chopped
1 1/4 cups dry white wine
1 1/4 quarts vegetable stock
hot pepper sauce – to taste
salt and freshly ground pepper

Set aside a little diced red pepper for garnish.  Put it peppers, potatoes, onion, garlic, stock in a large saucepan and bring to a boil. Lower the heat and simmer for 30 mins, or until all veggies are soft.  Blender/food processor until smooth.  Season to taste with salt, pepper and hot pepper sauce.  Cool slightly. Garnish with reserved red pepper and serve warm or at room temperature.

Serve with fresh chunky bread!

MY NOTES:  I pretty much doubled this recipe because I like having something ready for lunch (especially this week with the kids out of school).  Instead of doubling the veggie stock, I used chicken stock for the additional amount needed.  I also used pecan bits as garnish…. my family thought I was weird so I suggest skipping that.  By the end of the meal, I made the comment that this soup was really quite filling & my husband reminded me that I had THREE bowls.  Thanks, dear!

Thank you, Tree, for the recipe!


Responses

  1. Amy, Is that really you?? Woo Hoo, welcome back!
    Its cold again and it snowed tonight, I would love a bowl of your soup!
    Seriously, it’s great to hear from you, even if it’s now and then.

  2. HELLLOOOOOOOOOOOOOO there bella. Was wondering if you would get back. Shall I send you some recipes to get you back to blogging? Welcome back Amy. Good to know you’ve been feeding the family! How you doing?
    Much love, tanti baci, Deeba

  3. Nice to see you back, the soup looks wonderful!

  4. Yes! Where have you been young lady?! You have been missed 🙂

  5. I am so happy to see you! Yeah! The soup looks good. I hope you don’t stay away so long next time. But I more than understand.

  6. Me again…just stopping by to check if all is good!!! xoxoxo


Leave a comment

Categories